Rain*X on your dish and LNB ?

flytank

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Feb 17, 2006
Hello there guys !!! Well, as a central Florida resident, I have embraced our summer with much excitement....not!!!!!! As most of you guys know the warm temperatures here generate thunder showers almost every afternoon. A local source told me that applying rain x (yes, the car windshield stuff) to my dishes as well as to the LNB's would cause the water to bead off of them and significantly increase my chances of NOT loosing my signal. I thought it sounded pretty interesting....anyone of you guru's have any input on this ? Scott.....anyone? Thanks in advance and Happy 4th of July to you alll!!!!!!!!

I'm pretty sure that wouldn't do jack for rain. Rain build up isn't usually the issue... The issue is the signal being blocked by rain in the atmosphere. Give it a shot though.

Majic Walrus said:
I'm pretty sure that wouldn't do jack for rain. Rain build up isn't usually the issue... The issue is the signal being blocked by rain in the atmosphere. Give it a shot though.

Flytank,
I agree with Majic Walrus,
It might work for snow build up , but seeing where your at, I doubt that, that would be a problem for you.:)

Jimbo

It's not so much to help it bead, it's to help it roll to the bottom of the dish and not bead on the dish. Will it make your picture clear in rain? no. Will it help? It might. Think about it, if there's rain beads all over your dish, the signal has to bounce THROUGH water to get to your LNB, so eliminating the beads of water may help reduce pixelation. Even if it doesn't, it doesn't cost you much. People will swear by a lot of slick products that work, including PAM. May want to try that first and see if it helps.

My dish loses the signal before the rain even gets to the dish. The rain drops in the sky are what blocks the signal. The heavier the rain, the more rain drops there are between your dish and the sat.