Split TV off Joey, trying to get remote to work

Discussion in 'The Hopper Zone' started by mikemorin, May 4, 2012.

  1. mikemorin

    mikemorin Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hooked up 2 tv's off 1 joey and the second tv is far enough away that the remote doesn't work. If i walk about 15ft from the room it starts to communicate with the Joey. Is there anyway around this to get it to pickup the remote that far? I have paired 2 remotes to the Joey so they both will operate the functions at both locations...

    Thanks
    Mike
     
    #1
  2. garys

    garys SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Posts:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    4
    Something could be causing interference, try putting short coax between Joey and the remote antenna to move it closer to second remote.
     
    #2
  3. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,493
    Likes Received:
    29
    Cannot do the antenna is internal on the Joey.
     
    #3
  4. king3pj

    king3pj SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Posts:
    5,030
    Likes Received:
    50
    I was wondering how that worked. Since there was no visible antenna on the joey and it definitely isn't IR I wasn't sure if they joey was actually receiving the remote commands directly or if they were going to the hopper. I read that these were supposed to be new extended range remotes so I wasn't sure if the hopper was just getting all the signals and sorting it out based on which joey it was paired too. I guess an internal antenna would make much more sense though since you can switch which hopper a joey is linked to with just a couple button presses.
     
    #4
  5. garys

    garys SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Posts:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    4
    Wow, didn't notice that. Funny the Hopper has one. Maybe use a an IR remote with repeater?
     
    #5
  6. kwindrem

    kwindrem Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    You might also try moving the Joey around, especially away from the TV and other electronics.

    If you have 2.4 GHz WiFi in the house, try changing the WiFi to a different channel since the 32.0 and 40.0 remotes use the same band.


    Recognizing you'd loose PIP, you could move your Hopper to the room you are splitting to 2 TVs. The external antenna may be enough, or you can add an extension, assuming you can find an extension kit or find the special connectors used.

    As someone else posted, you could use an IR remote and an IR repeater. The 32.0 and 40.0 remotes are UHF only to Hopper/Joey so you'd need something else: either a universal remote or an older Dish remote. It might be a challenge finding a Dish remote that has the colored buttons AND works IR. Others may be able to suggest a specific remote model.
     
    #6
  7. sparc

    sparc Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    7
    another option is to swap hopper and joey locations and then split off the hopper. Kind of depends on someone's wiring.

    Might be a better choice since the Hopper has an external antenna. I'm going to take a guess the hopper will be a little better with distance.

    As an experiment, you could just pair the remote to the hopper and just test the distance (before doing any swaps).
     
    #7
  8. rglore

    rglore Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    7
    To test remote connection signal, press and hold sat button until all top buttons light up, then press and hold input button until sat button lights up. Now the remote will indicate signal strength with lights and tone so you can experiment with moving the Joey or remote around.
     
    #8
VigLink badge
Sucuri