Tailgater

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by 1l243, Dec 29, 2013.

  1. 1l243

    1l243 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am currently getting nothing from my dish tailgater. I last used it in May with my home 211 K receiver. It worked fine then.. It is out of warranty and approximately one and a half years old. When turned on all I get is a signal search screen and then a total signal loss screen. I have tried the check switch but all I get is currently doing tests 1 of 50 instead of 1 of 3 like I used to get. The only thing that has changed since I use the tailgster is that I had dish install a new HD Dish on the home and was wondering if the installer could have changed something in the receiver so my dish tailgater does not work. Any help would be appreciated
     
    #1
  2. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,887
    Likes Received:
    556
    This would garner more responses in the Dish forum. Perhaps a wandering Mod will move it there.

    I suggest you run a check switch with the sat feed coax DISCONNECTED. This will clear the record. Then reconnect the dish and run check switch again. MIGHT fix it.

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    #2
  3. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,530
    Likes Received:
    376
    moved to dish area

    by the way if you see a thread that is obviously in the wrong spot (like should be in dish and is in ops or general area) at the bottom of the post is a ! inside a triangle. Click on that and report the post so we can get it moved quickly :)
     
    #3
  4. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    Likes Received:
    521

    If you have not used the receiver in a long time you may need to hook it up to a stationary dish antenna and make sure it is still working properly. When receivers sit inactive for a long time they get "dumb" and need to have software sent to them again. I've had to do this a few times in order to get mine to work.
     
    #4
  5. lakebum431

    lakebum431 Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Posts:
    10,758
    Likes Received:
    88
    Yep. Quickest way I have found to get this done is to call the dish number, select technical assistance and tell them that you have a receiver that has been out of the stream for awhile and it needs a hit. They won't make you go through all the troubleshooting and will just do it. If you go through the the regular csr it will be a long process.
     
    #5
  6. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,887
    Likes Received:
    556
    Okey Dokey. Not just for SPAM...... :)
     
    #6
  7. 1l243

    1l243 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for moving this thread to the dish section. The 211 K receiver is the same receiver I used in the house all the time. It was working properly when I took it from the house to the RV this weekend. The tailgater has not been used since May. I have tried the check switch when connected and not connected. I have changed the cable and still no change.normally when setup starts I get the drop down screen for location I am currently not getting that screen. It goes straight to searching for signal then total signal loss.
    I will try sending it back up to the stationary dish and see if it works.
     
    #7
  8. 1l243

    1l243 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me ad, I returned home and hooked up the 211k to the house fixed dish and it works fine. I did notice that the area code on the check switch was wrong. I had not changed it, it wasn't even my home location zip code. Would that make a difference? It was on super dish because that's what it was on at home.

    I did try a brand new cable when it was in the RV and I ran direct to the back of the receiver without going through the RV. Still nothing....
     
    #8
  9. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,887
    Likes Received:
    556
    Cable, connector, or LNB problem at the RV.
     
    #9
  10. SomeDishGuy

    SomeDishGuy Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    38
    Okay, using the more direct cable from the Tailgater to the back of the receiver, go Menu-6-1-1 again, and select Check Switch. Do you get the Installation Summary or the Portable Antenna screen? If you get the Installation Summary, run check switch (or from portable antenna, run scan), when it's doing that, go listen, and do you hear any noise coming from the Tailgater? If no noise, either the coax line is bad, or something is wrong with the Tailgater itself. Make sure, if you get the portable antenna screen, to select the proper state. The zip code on the point dish screen won't affect anything, it only gives you aiming angles on that page for assistance pointing a manual dish.
     
    #10
  11. 1l243

    1l243 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have run a brand NEW cable directly from the Tailgator to the back of the receiver. I don't get the Installation summary for the portable dish. I can run a check switch by doing 611 when doing this I hear nothing from the tailgater.

    It was suggested that I run a check switch after unchecking super or alt dish with the receiver not connected to the satellite. This would clear the receiver? then to connect to the Tailgater and see if it boots up?
     
    #11
  12. Deadlocked

    Deadlocked SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Posts:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    91
    Have you PM'd DIRT?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    #12
  13. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    Likes Received:
    521
    If it's a problem with the Tailgater DIRT will not be able to help though. Dish has nothing to do with that product after you purchase it even though it has their name on it.
     
    #13
  14. SomeDishGuy

    SomeDishGuy Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    38
    If you have new, good coax from the Tailgater to the receiver, and you don't get the Portable Antenna screen, something is wrong with the Tailgater antenna. You'll need to contact King Controls, they build it and service it.
     
    #14
  15. budda

    budda Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a different angle on this problem. Disconnect coax on reviver. Run check switch let it finish. Accept changes. Then hook coax from tailgater backup run check switch again. It should work. Iceburg helped me with something like this before. I think he said something like, "you have to clear the matrix". Something to do with the switch that the receiver stores in memory. The tailgate and your new Sat Dish are more then likely different switches. At least it worth a try. :) Good luck.
     
    #15
  16. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,887
    Likes Received:
    556
    You mean like I suggested in post #2?

    ;)

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    #16
  17. 1l243

    1l243 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    when I perform the check switch with the coax disconnected do I uncheck super or alternate dish? After the check switch and reconnecting the coax to the tailgater do I recheck the super dish box before running the check switch?
     
    #17
  18. the mack

    the mack Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    4
    For sure can't hurt to uncheck the super and alt options. I have seen that cause issues before, although it really should not matter.
     
    #18
  19. 1l243

    1l243 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I removed the coax and powered up the receiver. I unchecked super dish and did a check switch. 1-38.... When done I saved the changes. I shut down the receiver and connected the coax from the tailgater. Powered up the receiver and got a message "a problem has been detected please wait while we check your switch configuraton and launced into a switch check 1-50 on it's own. When that was completed I got a message that said "a problem has been detected with your satellite dish connections. If the result of bad weather please wait til the weather passess and run check switch again. So, it did not work.

    This us my second tailgater. The first one went down pretty much the same way after 6 monts but was replaced on warranty. Guess I will have to check with King Controls and see how much it will cost to fix this one..
     
    #19
  20. TheKrell

    TheKrell SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    10,845
    Likes Received:
    355
    Gee. :( How flimsy can these things be?
     
    #20
VigLink badge
Sucuri