Telstar 11

Discussion in 'General CableTV & Satellite Forum' started by MrMylesG, Jul 19, 2004.

  1. MrMylesG

    MrMylesG Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!

    I have a motorized 30" FTA dish and I am enjoying the variety of international programming available on the main USA satellite belt (mainly Telstar 5). I would like to extend my reach to Telstar 11. It is fairly low in the sky at 37.5 degrees (AZ 117.49, EL 31.82). I live in Jacksonville, Florida.

    I know that I will need to purchase at least a one meter dish, preferably a 1.2 meter dish so I can get some channels on T11.

    Does anyone here have any experience viewing a satellite so low in the horizon?

    Also, I am having a devil of a time finding Galaxy 10R. I am not sure if my dish can turn to that area of the sky or what. It is supposed to be one of those horizon to horizon motors. As far as I can tell there are no obstructions. The LNB settings are Lo 10750.

    One more thing.... where is a good supplier of larger dishes? Thanks for your help.
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. Satellite Expert

    Satellite Expert Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,061
    Likes Received:
    261
    I'm in MN and can get T11 no problem. I can get all the way over to Hispasat 1C (30 W). All I'm using is a 30" dish.
     
    #3
  4. MrMylesG

    MrMylesG Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    T11

    Wow! You get T11 with a 30"???? What settings do you use to get those T11 channels? I am mainly interested in the Russian channels.

    Thanks.
     
    #4
  5. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,061
    Likes Received:
    261
    In MN the elevation is around 15 :)

    The reason I had aimed at T11 was because of Ohio News network (ONN), but now they moved. I never tried to get the Russian channels.

    Its the normal settings (LO 10750) Looks like they're at 12000 H 3254, 12041 V 3617 and 12051 V 3617

    I'll try it tonight to see if it will work. If I can get it in MN, then you surely should be able to in FL. :)
     
    #5
  6. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep! I get the Russian channels !
     
    #6
  7. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,061
    Likes Received:
    261
    Well
    If Pete gets those, then I should be able to (I'm only 30 miles west of Pete as the crow flies).
     
    #7
  8. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont get them : ( Just done a blind search and got nothing, it may be because I am now using a standard LNB as I swapped out my universal (sorry) I am going back to the universal, I have lost one or two channels now, and the signal level is no better than it was, I will post again when I change back to a universal, I may also have been getting mixed up with the other "Russian" type channels up there.
     
    #8
  9. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is also the possibility that the channels are only on some hours a day! I have seen that also.
     
    #9
  10. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,061
    Likes Received:
    261
    weird....

    according to Mike Kohl's site www.global-cm.net, we should be able to get them

    37.5 West Telstar 11 Ku-Band 10750 MHz local oscillator

    H-12000 1250 3/4 03.254 4194 4195 R T N Russia
    H-12113 1363 3/4 01.180 4132 4133 MAHARISHI OPEN UNIVERSITY
    V-12041 1291 3/4 03.617 0231 0232 MOSKVA-MIR Russia
    V-12051 1301 3/4 03.617 6141 6142 INTER + Ukraine

    Mike's site sometimes isn't the most up to date.....I'll try it tonight
     
    #10
  11. mikekohl

    mikekohl Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    644
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't have access to 37.5 at the moment to confirm what channels are truly on the air...but must comment that Telstar 11 is a very strange satellite with respect to its coverage area. There are many different spot beams, and what may work in Minnesota may not work in Florida. The other thing to consider is that most of the foreign language feeds that end up at 37.5 West are inbound signals for DISH Network. Don't count on any of them staying in free-to-air/in the clear mode for any length of time. History has proven otherwise; using the Polish signal for example, and previous Russian channels. Enjoy whatever is available, but don't get too hooked on it.

    Mike
     
    #11
  12. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,061
    Likes Received:
    261
    I tired to pick them up last night and nothing...no signal quality at all

    So they might be gone
     
    #12
  13. MrMylesG

    MrMylesG Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Argh!!!

    The T11 satellite looks like it has a fairly strong footprint in Florida, but I have read that I need at least a 90cm dish to get the signal. Now for another mystery, at least for me. I removed my 76cm dish from my motor mount and mounted it on a fencepost. I used a sat signal finder and pointed in the direction of Galaxy 10. I get a very strong signal but my FTA receiver cannot lock on.

    I hooked the line up to my DVB setup and ran a dish signal program. It shows very little or no signal. Now when I ran ProgDVB, I show quality of about 43% and 0% signal strength, but I can pick up the schedule info on the following channels on the Telstar 7 settings:

    WFMJ
    WYFT
    WYTV
    WNEO

    I can't for the life of me find a listing for these channels on T7 or anything else in the area. Does anyone have a hint what is going on?

    Thanks!

    MrM
     
    #13
  14. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,061
    Likes Received:
    261
    Those stations are Youngstown, OH stations...they might be there temporarily.

    For G10, try 11799 V 26.660 as a transponder. That has the WB, UPN, etc on there and is pretty strong
     
    #14
  15. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    It will help if you scew you LNB since you took it off the motor ( skew sets its self on a motor ).
     
    #15
  16. mikekohl

    mikekohl Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    644
    Likes Received:
    4
    The Youngstown, Ohio signals you are receiving are on 121 West
    (Echostar 9, which is Ku-band). These are encrypted along with other
    local-into-local small market stations for DISH Network, and normally received with the SuperDish. 121 is considerably stronger than Galaxy 10R at 123 West, so try lowering your elevation a bit and just a tad to the west.

    Mike
     
    #16
  17. MrMylesG

    MrMylesG Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Echostar 121

    This is really weird then because I am using a FTA lnb. I was surprised to find them at all. I might change the LNB to dishnetwork and see what happens.

    Thanks for all your great assistance on this mystery folks... ya'll are the best!


    MrM
    -------------------------------
    Update! I lowered the dish a bit and am getting a good signal from what I believe to be Galaxy 10. However, I am only getting 40-45% quality but 90+ signal strength. Looks like I may be taking an axe to one single popcorn tree that just happens to be in the way. It is surprising to me that the signal could be that strong going through a tree though. I will try something tomorrow, I guess.
     
    #17
  18. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,061
    Likes Received:
    261
    What channels are you getting on G10?
     
    #18
  19. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its unlikely the tree is in the way see if you can work out the angles below and save the tree : ) The angle that a satellite signal comes down at (elevation) is VERY steep, its not where the dish seems to be pointing its WAY above, you could cut out a bit of card to the correct elevation angle in your area to see if the tree is a problem, to you its just a tree but to insects birds and animals its home sweet home!

    http://www.bjup.com/services/bjhomesat/tech_support/obstacle.html

    Forget signal strength and only worry about quality!
     
    #19
  20. MrMylesG

    MrMylesG Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally found G10

    Well Folks,

    I finally found G10 (briefly). I moved my dish to a fencepost and was able to track down the darn satellite. It got dark on me so I couldn't tweak my settings. I did manage to get about 6 stations though before I called it quits.

    MrM
     
    #20

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri