Tuning into Dish Network Channels without a box?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by JasonSpatola, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. JasonSpatola

    JasonSpatola Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The claim:
    My mother has an analog television connected not to a Dish Network receiver, but "just to a cable from the wall". A DVD player is also connected. No Dish Network peripherals in sight.

    She claims, that as long as she uses the Dish Network remote, she is able to access her Dish Network channels, as well as the Dish Network interface elements (channel info, guide, Dish Network logo, etc.).

    I've not looked at this setup, but it sounds extremely, extremely unlikely.

    Is this possible in any way whatsoever? Is there some kind of discreet Dish Network receiver box that she's failed to spot? Her DVD player has a digital tuner - could she be tuning into her Dish channels that way while mistaking its guide for the Dish Network one? Is that even possible?

    Is there some kind of... magic remote tuner?

    I'm sorry if this all sounds completely stupid, but she's adamant that it works, and I'd like to know how.

    Thanks.

    -JSS
     
    #1
  2. aaronwt6

    aaronwt6 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    367
    Likes Received:
    2
    Most likely she has a dual tuner receiver. You have the box in one room and it works two tvs independently. The 2nd room only requires a UHF remote that shoots through the walls to work the box in the other room.
     
    #2
  3. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,753
    Likes Received:
    421
    yep its gotta be a dual tuner receiver
     
    #3
  4. TheKrell

    TheKrell SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    10,976
    Likes Received:
    412
    Or something like a 4900, which is an SD receiver w/UHF remote. I still have one of these in the closet.
     
    #4
  5. jadiff

    jadiff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    I assume she is paying Dish Network every month? Or is she claiming to "just get Dish Network"?
     
    #5
  6. busdriver72

    busdriver72 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Posts:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    OR...if it is a multi-dwelling...High Rise apartments building, or something like that, in which case it could be modulated out-put...a commercial type setup. There could there a room with multiple receivers connected to modulators.







    Or it could be a dual tuner.:D
     
    #6
  7. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    261
    OK, if she doesn't have a Dish Network receiver, explain to me WHY she has a Dish Network REMOTE? :confused:

    It seems to me, if she has the remote, she's gotta have a receiver somewhere.... I'm sure her tv set, or dvd player didn't come with a Dish remote as default...

    So, yeah, I'm betting there's a dual-tuner receiver in her house that she's controlling with a uhf remote... As others said.
     
    #7
  8. jlong27

    jlong27 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Posts:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please come back and tell us! This is just crazy...
     
    #8
  9. worldwithoutwires

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    She could have an OTA box PAL-40 or something like that which brings up a Dish looking guide but is striclty for Digital locals. Cool actually if locals are your thing, actually a mother kind of thing, the only one I ever saw was at someones mothers,
     
    #9
  10. skyviewmark

    skyviewmark Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    7
    LOL. Just look for the number 2 on the bottom of her dish remote
     
    #10
  11. JWKessler

    JWKessler Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Posts:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if Dish ever made something similar, but some friends had an early RCA HD TV with a huge picture tube that included a DirecTV tuner in it. The TV itself was the tuner.
     
    #11
  12. magnum2066

    magnum2066 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Posts:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dish still needed a separate receiver, usually a 381 or the dreaded 811.
     
    #12
  13. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    32,103
    Likes Received:
    631
    There have been cases of cablecos illegally retransmitting Dish programming. And I suppose the Dish remote could have been programmed for a cable box. I really don't think this is the case, but it is in the realm of possibilities.

    Or she's just messing with him.
     
    #13
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri