Unconventional installation.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

James [a_leon]

Original poster
Jul 21, 2014
Hey guys, I'm copying this word-for-word from another forum, hoping for a little bit of insight from someone else who's tried something crazy.

Greetings. I am relatively new to DirecTV and have had a situation (and opportunity!) placed in my lap and I'm hoping that someone here may shed some light before I put in a lot of time, money, and effort.

Background information, you can skip this if you want.
I am a student at a university. While here, I am the head projectionist and equipment supervisor for the theater on campus (we run a Barco DP2000 digital projector fed by a DSS100/DSP100, with a Gefen scaler which allows us alternate content including DirecTV, as we have a commercial contract and a dish mounted on the roof). In addition to that, I am a student technician with our telecommunications department. One of the things I get to help work on and maintain is our cable tv headend (we have 64 DirecTV receivers feeding into Blonder Tongue encoders (HDE-2H-QAM), along with several SCOLA feeds, NASA, MTVU, etc). The four LNB feeds hit an amplifier before hitting 8-way splitters to hit 8 Zinwell MS6x8WB-Z multiplexers

The problem.
The location of the theater on campus is that of a lecture hall. This particular building is in a bit of a valley, so our dish is pointing at a hilltop through trees. When a good wind comes, we start getting all kinds of problems. The dish feeding the head end, however, is at the top of that hill and experiences none of those problems.

The proposal.