What is this Triplexer for?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by upsss, May 29, 2011.

  1. upsss

    upsss Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    423
    Likes Received:
    1
    What is this Triplexer for? The installer left it in the 722 empty box.

    SANY1007.JPG
     
    #1
  2. gokartergo

    gokartergo Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    14
    It is used for "backfeeding" signal for tv2 If your rec is just hooked up to 1 tv our tv2 is hardwired it is not needed.. Go get a couple bucks for it off of EBAY...LOL
     
    #2
  3. upsss

    upsss Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    423
    Likes Received:
    1
    What is the purpose of the third output, UHF/VHF?
     
    #3
  4. gokartergo

    gokartergo Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    14
    That is for TV2. You need another diplexer at another point for it to work..
     
    #4
  5. upsss

    upsss Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Posts:
    423
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, I found this on line which shows all the connections.
    I guess you would use it if you don't have regular access to TV2 from the receiver location.

    tri4.jpg
     
    #5
  6. gokartergo

    gokartergo Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    14
    Correct. You get a better picture if it is hardwired in.. Rather then using the triplexers and diplexers.. Before that triplexer came out.. We had to put another diplexer there.. It just saved us installers a little bit of time..

    If I have some separators in my van. And the triplexer is not needed I usually put in the separator also. It just removes one thing out of the system that can go bad..
     
    #6
  7. TheKrell

    TheKrell SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    10,826
    Likes Received:
    349
    I think you can also use it for your OTA antenna.
     
    #7
  8. nismoman

    nismoman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you can. To put it simply its just a way of allowing you to use a single cable into the house vs two or three for one box.
     
    #8
VigLink badge
Sucuri