Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Would this LNB work for FTA?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by mchomicz, Apr 17, 2005.

  1. mchomicz

    mchomicz Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am confused about this LNB:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=32841&item=5767783900&rd=1

    I though that DirecTV and Dish Network use circular polarization LNBs whereas FTA uses linear polarization LNB. Yet this very inexpensive LNB claims to be able to do it all!

    Will this LNB work for all the FTA channels out there? Or only for things like NASA TV, radio stations and some promo TV channels available in the clear on Dish network satellites?

    Thank you,
    Michael
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. nthompson711

    nthompson711 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the guy doesnt know what he is talking about...

    But I am kinda dumb...
     
    #2
  3. lilyarbie

    lilyarbie Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it will do FTA

    The LNB will do FTA signals off the DirecTV and DishNetwork satellites, but it won't be able to receive FTA signals off of other satellites since they broadcast on Linear Polarization.
     
    #3
  4. charper1

    charper1 Bourbon Tester Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    What FTA is on D* & E* other than NASA and the 1 -2 info card channels? If you want FTA/DVB then buy the correct gear not E* or D* gear.
     
    #4
  5. lilyarbie

    lilyarbie Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I meant

    I meant there were a few channels of FTA on Dish Network but that's it
     
    #5
  6. charper1

    charper1 Bourbon Tester Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    18,443
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, just so mchomicz (the original poster) is clear, DO NOT buy E* or D* stuff to run your FTA setup. Hope this helps you Michael?.?
     
    #6
  7. carload

    carload New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Plus you can use it to get the FTA content from Bell ExpressVu. For now, that's a few barker channels plus a couple dozen radio stations.

    I'm guessing the seller is using "FTA" inaccurately to mean "using bad equipment to commit piracy." :(
     
    #7
  8. mchomicz

    mchomicz Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for all the replies. I guess this is the LNB to get if I wanted to add NASA TV to my setup then?

    Thanks again
    Michael
     
    #8
  9. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    #9

Share This Page