Status
Please reply by conversation.

goaliebob99

SatelliteGuys Master
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Aug 5, 2004
-.-. .... .. -.-. .- --. ---
So, I have finally built my HDPC and Im watching a 4:2:2 feeds now with the help of my tt s2-3200 and tsreader. I included a 1080P bluray player in it. I have noticed that some bluray disks are a little choppy but not bad for the most part. It got me wondering how many of you are running 1080P HTPC's for FTA and how do you keep your pc from getting choppy. I have a 3.0 core duo CPU with Two gigs running xp professonal. I chose XP over vista as I could not get the tt S2-3200 up with tsreader and vista. Also whats the best de anitlacer?

Im running HDMI from the PC to the tv.

Well, I'm no expert on this, but I'll chime in. I have a new S2-3200 board to add to my year and a half old skywalker-1. On the h.264 feed , sometimes I have to switch codecs. I'm running Arcsoft, CoreAVC and Cyberlink. Oddly, on a particular feed, one of them will be substantially better than the other . Another issue is the video renderer ( all my examples are working with DVBdream) , where CoreAVC h264 codec seems to favor a particular renderer, and Arcstoft another renderer. PCI DVB is a very flexible world , and no two systems seem to act alike.

:)

-DVB setup
AMD Athlon dual core X2 5600+
ASUS mobo
2 GB ddr ram
ATI x1650 Pro (512MB)
Genpix skywalker-1
TT s2-3200

When I had my HTPC, I used the s2-3200 with ProgDVB Pro (not the freeware version) and it worked really well with 4.2.2 feeds and it deinterlaced the feed really well, it was highly configurable.

"It got me wondering how many of you are running 1080P HTPC's for FTA and how do you keep your pc from getting choppy." You might want to look at your cpu utilization, and see whether your existing video card will decompress h.264 in hardware . ATI and Nvidea each sell several cards that handle hardware decompression of the mpeg4 ( h.264 ) stream.