2 dishes to one receiver?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

mshaffer

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 29, 2008
Hi, there are a lot of trees blocking my dish, I can only get the west satellites. I wanted to get the eastern sats and I have a place I could put a second dish, but I'm not sure how much trouble it would be to use 2 dishes. I have a Chapparal Monterey 100c plus right now, but plan on getting a 922 and HD side car so I can get more channels. Anyways, is there a way to run 2 dishes?

Thanks

It's a shame you haven't had a nibble in all this time...

I'm no expert, but from what I've read, the receiver usually powers the motor to move the BUD, and keeps track of position by counting pulses from a magnet-driven reed switch.
Haven't seen any receivers with the ability to keep track of two dishes.
Any sort of manual switching seems fraught with problems.
. . . of course, I'd be happy to read how someone has managed this feat! - :up

Would this idea appeal to you . . . ?
Use one receiver for each dish. (possibly two 922's?)
East receiver runs the eastern dish.
West receiver runs the western dish.
That would work, and be easy.
Not sure if you'd be happy with the outcome. :confused:

Two possible alternatives:
- move the one dish north enough to see over all the trees
- blow up (or cut down) the trees as you see fit

I did not think --- about two receivers, that is. I think is a great idea, Anole. Where I use 2 receivers in the same area (regular tuning and DVR set on G25 only), I have one on RF output, channel 3 and the other receiver feeding my TV through the RCA cords: red, white and yellow. That way, I use the input button on the remote to switch between the two.

Pop -

Good point. I wasn't considering that as a problem. But you are right - it is.

In the old days, I used the front panel and the rear panel inputs to my VCR.
Today, I have two FTA receivers plugged into a DVD recorder; you select which receiver to watch with the DVD remote.