2 TV's to 811 receiver

skyeblues

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
I just purchased a new Westinghouse 32" HD-Ready for $899 and will pick it up on Tuesday. I am not a subscriber to DISH, and have spent a good amount of time the last couple of days reading posts, DISH website, etc regarding HD. I am interested in the 811 for the HD w/o DVR. My older tv still works, and I would like to use it in a separate room along with the little tv out on the front screened in porch. It is not HD and has S-video and RG in and out cable hookups as well as a coaxial. I live in a rural area with no cable access so that is not an option.

My question is ==> can I get by with just one 821 receiver for both tv's? I live alone, and will not have to have convenience of separate channel switching. In the old days I had *D and was able to do this, but with the newer hd hookups and requirements I am a newbie. I dropped my *D service when I began school, and am about to finish that up and am rewarding myself with satellite tv again. Any help would be appreciated, as I have not yet signed up with DISH. Thanks.

Or, you could buy a S-video to chan 3/4 modulator and run coax to the second TV. Also purchase a second remote and you can control the channel at the second TV.

G

Or, you could buy a S-video to chan 3/4 modulator and run coax to the second TV.
I am planning on doing the same thing. I am newbie any suggetions on what Modulator to use
Thanks

Steve

I just hooked my 811 to my tv in my bedroom as well as my HDTV in my living room. The best thing to do since the 811 doesn't have a rf out is to buy a rf modulator as mentioned in this post. It works great! The rf remote works great on the 811 if you have it. It works through walls and everything. If not...then you can buy a remote control extender .....they work wonders.

steve617 said:
Or, you could buy a S-video to chan 3/4 modulator and run coax to the second TV.