2nd dish for 129 with H3

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Jackonearth, Apr 4, 2018.

  1. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    What's considered a long TV run?
     
  2. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6,732
    Likes Received:
    5,337
    Location:
    USA
    I consider 100+ feet to be a long run.
     
    HipKat and charlesrshell like this.
  3. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    60 to 80 foot runs using Clad won't cause problems?
     
  4. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6,732
    Likes Received:
    5,337
    Location:
    USA
    As long as it's good quality wire it should be fine.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  5. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    The 3Ghz, RG6 you can buy at places like Home Depot, Menards, etc is pretty good cable. The cable you buy at Radio Shack is garbage
     
    NYDutch and JSheridan like this.
  6. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,180
    Likes Received:
    901
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    Are there any Radio Shacks left since their bankruptsy ?
     
  7. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    53,521
    Likes Received:
    7,249
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    The stores seem to be closed but there are many authorized dealers around the country.
     
  8. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Can't remember the last time I was at a RadioShack but I usually get my cable online. What made the RadioShack cable a bad choice? Was it just not certified for 3Ghz or something else?
     
  9. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    769
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Beach.
    The tech that did my HwS install years ago asked if I wanted to hook in my 129 wing dish through the port on the LNB, but he'd need some tin foil to cover the 129 LNB on the main dish. So I guess that's all it takes. I recommended half a tin can. He said that he had never tried that.

    Just ordered the second H3 for a dual install.

    Sent from my SM-T280 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  10. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    It's really not necessary to cover it up. It'll use the better signal, but yeah, you can do that
     
  11. SandFarmer

    SandFarmer SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    769
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Beach.
    Thanks! Nice to know. And I meant a pop can. So much easier to do.

    The best of two sources. Love it.
     
  12. Jackonearth

    Jackonearth Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2018
    Posts:
    446
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    I always imagined tin foil or a can would heat up in the sun and melt the plastic on the LNB
     
  13. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Possibly in Phoenix, but I think San Fran is safe lol
     
  14. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Location:
    Wanderer
    I save all my tin foil for hats, don't waste it on TV stuff.
     
    crodrules and SandFarmer like this.
  15. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    53,521
    Likes Received:
    7,249
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    The San Francisco area is full of microclimates. North, east, and south bay areas can get quite warm (90's, sometimes low 100's) in summer.
     
    crodrules likes this.
  16. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I never would have thought it got that warm up there, although, with warm winds off the warm Pacific, I guess that makes sense
     
  17. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    53,521
    Likes Received:
    7,249
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Um, no, actually the Pacific is not warm up here, it is in the south, but we get hot winds from the interior. Where I live we get a sea breeze in the mid afternoon and it is too cold outside, in the middle of summer, to be without a jacket. Just one of those microclimates....
     
    HipKat likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...