322 receiver to dish 500

bcuth

Original poster
Sep 26, 2008
I'm a total noob here, so details are good for me.
1) I want to hook up my model 322 receiver to a dish 500 dish. Where you would hook the coax up to the dish, there are 3 ports. "1" , "2", and "Line In". Which do I use?
2) How long of a coax can I reasonably use? I would like to have 200 ft, but can easily cut back on that if needed.
3) When setting up inside, what are the proceedures? Do I try to get a signal first? Check the switch (whatever that is) first? Spin around three times and click my heels together and say "There is no place like Dish Network?" I've had so much conflicting information that I am totally confused now. Thanks for any assistance you can give.

NOOB 01:confused:

Last edited:
I imagine you have a DishPro Plus twin LNB assembly. This has two outputs (1 and 2) for two dual-tuner receivers, and an input for a wing dish. Just run one cable from output 1 to the separator that came with your 322, and from the separator to each tuner.

I'm a total noob here, so details are good for me.

Separator? Tuner? see above quote please.

I assume the tuner is the 322 I refered to? I'm only running to one TV, so is the separater you refer to for hooking up more than one TV?

boba,

I know there is always one in every crowd. Thanks for identifying yourself so soon. If I had a manual, I'd read it. Your sarcasm is not appreciated. I was under the assumption this was a place for help, not for flames. But then again, if you are a flamer then by all means, be what you are.