4900 Receiver with new install?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

TominKY

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 29, 2004
I'm a newbie to all of this, so bear with me. Currently I am signed up to have DISH installed with two 322 receivers next week. A friend told me that he had DISH a couple of years ago and still has his 4900 receiver laying around, and I could have it if I want to try it. This has caused me to think about saving $5/month and going back to having a single 322 installed, if I can use his 4900 for one of the other sets. Is this possible, and if so, what equipment will I need to do this? What do I have to do to get DISH to support the 4900? He still has the card for the 4900, if that helps any.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Tom

The 4900 once was a very good receiver, but now you would find it very,very,very slow. Also with only one tuner it will only do one tv.

How many rooms do you need TV in. Two 322 receivers can supply 4 rooms with television. Take one away and add a 4900 and you're stuck with just 3 rooms of tv.

You can see if Dish will let you remove one of the two 322 installs, but then the free install may only include the equipment they install. Thus you have to pay extra for the tech to install the 4900 you are getting for free from your friend.

And if you are doing the Digital Home Plan lease thing, I'm not sure if they let you add any other receivers that are not also on the plan.

MRUSS, in what way will it be slow? Changing channels, or will it somehow affect picture quality?