4k and adding another TV

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by mdntblu, Mar 4, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.
  1. mdntblu

    mdntblu Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    So I have a DirecTV HR44-700 receiver downstairs on a new 4k TV (just moved my 1080p TV to another room upstairs). I wanted to find out if this receiver supports 4k? And what is the best way to get access to the DVR content on the other TV upstairs without spending a lot of money?

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Md
    it does not support 4k, for that you need an hr54 or hs17

    to access the hr44 you need a mini, receiver, or dvr, i recommend a dvr(hr24)
     
  3. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    537
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    PA
    On top of the HR54 or a HS17 you would also need a C61K client on those 4K TVs to access 4K client
     
    harshness likes this.
  4. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Jersey
    As others have noted you'll need a complete equipment upgrade. That will result in a new two year contract so if you're going to do it, make sure you're comfortable sticking around and make the best possible deal you can on the equipment. I did this almost two years ago and got the HS17 and two C61Ks minis. Everything was free and I got a nice monthly discount.
     
  5. mdntblu

    mdntblu Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Ok so what if I don't need 4k on any TV? Just want to use my current HR44 to allow DVR content on upstairs TV? I called DTV yesterday and they told me it was $200 for equipment plus $7/month.
     
  6. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Md
    you can get a mini, that uses a tuner from the hr44, its usually free with a contract
    a receiver, usually $99 and a contract
    a dvr, usually 199 and a contract

    all are $7 a month

    anyway you look at it you will have a contract.
    i suggest putting putting an hr54 on the 1080tv and a c61k on the 4k tv

    i personally do not think there is enough content at this time and am waiting to see where it goes

    some will say get the hs17, and a mini on each tv

    that would be your call, but there are issues reported by many people, and none reported by many people
    its a toss up
     
    mdntblu likes this.
  7. mdntblu

    mdntblu Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    I'm on the phone with them now. Will let you know.
     
  8. mdntblu

    mdntblu Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    So today when I called back they just said $7/month extra and a tech will be out Saturday to install the equipment. No mention of $200 or $99. I should of recorded the call incase they try and charge me later.
     
  9. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Md
    if your out of contact, an upgrade should be free
    note: do not let them install anything wireless, that often come with a charge

    also review the email confirmation, make sure its right
     
  10. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,726
    Likes Received:
    2,668
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Don't let them give you a HS17 Genie 2 ...
     
  11. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    537
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    PA
    Why not? I love mine
     
  12. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,726
    Likes Received:
    2,668
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I could never go that route ... too confining.
     
  13. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    New Jersey
    If you're going to recommend something or bash something it would be nice to state why. I mean, what exactly does "too confining" mean?

    I've had an HS17 with 2 C61Ks and 2 wireless minis for almost two years. It's fine. I have absolutely no complaints and I've seen just about every model of receiver and DVR as an 11-year customer.
     
  14. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,906
    Likes Received:
    11,128
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    It's fine as long as the HS17 doesn't go down. If it does you are SOL until it gets replaced since it doesn't have it's own tuners. It also is configured oddly, upright. It doesn't fit in a regular cabinet very well.
     
    mdram likes this.
  15. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Md

    if you have a genie and a dvr its a sideways move
    any system that has more than 7 tuners, its a downgrade
    any system that has more recording tuners available its a downgrade

    its really only a viable system for 1 or 2 tvs, more than that and there are better alaternatives
    even at 2 tvs its not the best option
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  16. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    537
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    PA
    Sorry but it is not. I have a HS 17 with 6 clients and have never had a conflict or issue
     
  17. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Md
    you dont use those 6 clients at the same time
    try turning all 6 on and see what happens
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  18. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    537
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    PA
    In some cases yes depending on who is home But I am not going to keep a 10 year old dvr hanging around just to have a spare set of tuners Almost every cable company has the same set up now.. X1 and Tivo systems operate the same way.. You have a main box and clients.. Most people dont keep a separate dvr from there cable company hooked up
     
  19. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,920
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Md
    for new installs, maybe not, but for people that already have dvrs, why get rid of them for a client?
    many cable companies also have an app you can use to stream

    but we are talking about directv, not cable companies
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  20. comp9

    comp9 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    537
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    PA
    Directv has an app you can stream with also.. Why replace dvr's with clients... To keep things the same Same playlist and interface
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.

Separate names with a comma.

More...