4K install and equipment question

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by cpd5215, Apr 10, 2018.

  1. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong location. Please move it if necessary. Ill give you a run down of my current setup/equipment for reference and please ask if you need more info to give me your recommendations.

    I am interested in upgrading my current DirecTv service to 4K. I currently have the XTRA package. I have 6 months left on my 1 yr contract. I also am bundled with ATT wireless. In our living room I recently purchased a LG OLED65C7 and Denon 2400. ATV4K, Wii, PS4, HR44 all go into the Denon and then out to the LG on the wall. There is a wireless video bridge next to the HR44. I also use a Harmony hub to control all this equipment. We also have three other non 4K TV's in different rooms that have CK41's attached to them.

    In the info section of the menu I also found the below info which you may need.
    MoCA
    SL3LNB
    SWM LNB

    With that said, what would be my best setup to get 4K on the living room LG. What equipment would I need and whats the best strategy to get it from DTV at the lowest cost?

    Thanks in advance! I really appreciate it.
     
  2. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    849
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Ideally I would say simply changeout the HR44 and go for a Genie 2 located at a convenient place for good reception by the C41W clients and ditch the current external WVB. And install a C61K for the LG 4K TV.

    The problem is the Genie 2 has such a mixed performance among customers right now, you're safe bet is to replace the HR44 and keep the ext. WVB where it is. And switch out one of the C41W's on a non-4K TV and place an HR54 there and install a C61K at the LG 4K TV.

    The drawback here is that you'll lose wireless access to the TV with the HR54 attached which must be via a coax run. As for equip./installation cost try to see what deals DIRECTV will offer.

    Particularly contact the "Loyalty Dept." (formally called "Retention Dept.") for deals.
     
  3. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Thanks for the detailed explanation!
    So dont screw around with the Genie2..,Get rid of HR 44, replace with C61K, and swap out C41 for HR54, connected via coax which I am able to do in my setup...Do I have this right?
     
  4. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    849
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Yep ...

    They may try and talk you into a Genie 2, but I personally wouldn't for now as your YMMV with it. And if you accept the G2, if you're not satisfied you can't go to a different setup like the HR54-C61K as that is considered a downgrade.

    Also be advised DIRECTV's 4K service is still in its infancy, and while the HR54 is solid on 4K signal reception, recording, and passthrough to the C61K 4K client.

    The C61K client has its share of issues too. ...

    As I posted in another thread, I've had three techs. by here in the LA area recently on service calls for various problems. And they all told me their number one callback problem and highest customer complaint was for the Genie 2 followed by the C61K.
     
  5. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Awesome. Thanks again for your help
     
  6. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    541
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I disagree. The HS17 is fine and all you have now is minis. If you go with an HR54 you'll still need a C61K and it will cost you an addition $7/month.

    I've had an HS17 since August and have experience no notable issues.
     
  7. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Thanks for your input.....So with a HS17, would that simply replace my HR44 and all my other equipment stay the same? Also, I guess I really didn't consider the cost as a factor because I haven't stayed on top of how much 4K was costing these days.....What cost do I incur your way vs the other option mentioned by HoTat2?
     
  8. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    849
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    I'm just reporting what the field techs. and others tell me. Their highest callback rates after initial installation are complaints of various issues with the HR17 and the C61K, at least here in the LA area.

    To which the techs. can't do much about when they arrive beyond swapping them for another as the problems are apparently firmware related. And all recommended against me upgrading to the HS17 for now.

    Also, for the OP, if he/she replaces one of the C41Ws with an HR54 the monthly fee will be the same as for the HS17.

    Great, which is why I said "mixed performance" and "YMMV" for the HS17 ...
     
  9. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio

    Thanks for the explanation. Do i understand correctly, either way that has been described to get 4K, I will incur the same additional $7 monthly fee? Anything else?
     
  10. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,139
    Likes Received:
    7,416
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Any additional box, whether a dvr, receiver, client, or rvu, gets an additional $7/month fee. Right now there is no charge for 4k.
     
  11. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Thanks!
     
    raoul5788 likes this.
  12. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Md
    if you go genie2, you will still need the c61k on the tv. the genie 2 is headless and has no video outputs
    its also a tower unit. and may not fit where a regular unit would.
    are your current c41's wired?
     
  13. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    C41's are all wireless.....Since I would swap out HR44 for Genie 2, and add C61K, I am only looking at a net increase of $7 right? Also, does the Genie 2 connect to the C61k, and do they both need to be by the 4K tv..(may b a stupid Q...sorry)
     
  14. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Md
    no increase in cost, the g2 has no charge, as it doesnt have video out

    it can go anyplace that can be wired. it also has a built in video bridge, so if you need more range or better coverage that could help
    the c61k has to be at the tv.
     
  15. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Gotcha...I currently dont have any reception issue with my wireless clients, but if I dont have to have the HS17 in the living room where the current HR44 is, I might just put the HS17 in the basement where the DTV comes into the house....that is possible right? Would the tech try placing it there and see if the reception is ok to the C61K and the other 3 C41's? Lastly so the C61K can simply plug into my Denon AVR via HDMI? Also, do I need a new dish?
     
  16. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Md
    c61k reception will be fine, its wired, there is no wireless 4k
    you should be able to keep the existing video bridge where it is
    and the g2 should be able to go int he basement

    the c61k should plug into the denon via hdmi
    make sure you have good cables. certified is best. they are not expensive
     
  17. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Thanks a lot!
     
  18. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    531
    Location:
    Md
    i hope the g2 works for you
    some people have no issues, some have many issues

    i would personally wait due to the limited content
     
  19. cpd5215

    cpd5215 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    Yea....I have been reading through a lot of threads that give the G2 mixed reviews.....Ill keeping reading and see if it helps make up my mind....LOL Is my dish fine for 4K....i read something about reverse band....honestly I dont really know what I have other than what is reported in the menu section..
     
  20. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    849
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Even if you don't have a Reverse Band capable LNB, the tech. is required to install one with all 4K upgrades

    But for now, look on the HR44 for the LNB data in "System Info & Test" ----> "Genie info." under the receiver settings.

    If you already have a Reverse Band LNB, then you should see "Reverse Band" listed next to a "RB/INTL" catagory.

    The RB is for future-proofing as DIRECTV eventually plans to move all 4K programming there.
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...