622 check switch problems - software?

scooter

Original poster
Aug 7, 2006
Hi Guys/Gals,

My first post here. I just became a dish network customer last week. I've got the 622 and a 311 in my house fed off a Dish 1000. All new RG6 runs that connect both .

My 311 never hiccups, but I have problems with my 622.

My signal level for 110 and 119 are in the 75-85 area, but my 129 is in the mid 60s during a clear day.

Starting the second day after I got the system installed I started having problems with the check switch errors appearing on the screen. Not having a clue I started playing around by undoing some of the diplexing.

I initially had both diplexed Sat feeds and the OTA on the same RG6 going to my 622, (and then seperated the sat to both tuners)but I undid that and now just have both sat signals on one RG6 and the OTA on another. After I did that it was working, but I think it was working only because I undid the second sat and ran another check switch to clear the matrix as recommended by a previous post on this board.

When it does hose up sometimes the check swith matrix reports I have the wrong switches like SW64 or something or other..rather than the DPP twin I think I have(like I said I am a new dish user). Every time I can clear it by disconnecting the second tuner running a check switch and then reconnecting the second tuner and running another check switch. Although this works this wastes 20 minutes every time I have to do this.

Everyday I have this issue and I think it occurs when the system powers down every night. So I guess I have a couple questions.

1.) How wide spread is this problem of the check switch errors on the 622 as I can only find a few posts pertaining to this as most problems seem to be centered around the heat issues with the DPP twins?

2.) Should I be contacting dish about this so they realize this is a problem and needs to get addressed or do you think they know about it already?