67W and 50W dishes install, please help

Status
Please reply by conversation.

vsolovyov

Original poster
Sep 17, 2015
Iowa
Hello,
I'm going to install dishes in Iowa, Monticello and setup it for following satellites:
Intelsat 1R at 50.0°W (Claro TV)
AMC 4 at 67.0°W (Media Networks Latin America)

I found some information regarding dishes I need:

67W:
EIRP level = 35.52 dBW
Recommended dish size = 250cm / 98.4in

50W:
EIRP level = 33.7 dBW
Recommended dish size = 290cm / 114.2in

But this is my first time installing dishes, please let me know if this is correct.

Also, should I worry about LNB ? I have some, the label on it says DP PLUS DIGIAL LNBF.

Thank you!

Something seems very off here. First time installing dishes and you're heading straight for the massive commercial type stuff. And you're targeting two pay services that don't sell to US consumers. I'm not saying it's completely impossible, but unless this is indeed a commercial venture, it's approaching impossible for someone with no experience.

As USDownlink said, these are encrypted channels. I assume you have a legal source for the needed receivers?

I believe that the DP Plus LNB is a Dish Pro LNBF for Dish Network. Circularly polarized and the wrong frequency range, so it won't work for you.

The channels you are looking for are in the 11,000 to 12,200 GHz frequency range and the polarization is linear. You also need a LNBF with an LO frequency that matches what their receiver is expecting. For example 9,750 or 10,750 GHz. So you need the specs of their receivers first, before getting an LNBF

For Monticello, Iowa, an EIRP level of about 35 dBW from 67W seems plausible. But you are outside of the footprint map, so that is extrapolating out from the edge, a very dangerous thing to do. A 250 cm Ku dish is not an inexpensive consumer item. You could spend thousands of dollars for one and then find it wasn't big enough.