722 DVR and TV2 dilemma

pcaffari

Original poster
Sep 23, 2004
I just had a 722 installed, and found out rather quickly (after the installer left) that the locals (which I get with and OTA antenna) won't show on TV2 unless 1) the receiver is in single mode (this defeats the purpose of a dual tuner) or 2) I install a Super Home Node (which I discovered that it's nothing but a fancy splitter). I chose option 2, and used a regular splitter backwards (thanks to reading your threads), and it works wonderfully. Now my question. My TV2 is an Sony Wega HD Ready TV (ie. analog). If a get a converter box for the famous 2009 date, will this box (which is meant to get hooked up directly to an OTA antenna) interfere with the signal coming from the cable that now contains both the antenna, and the modulated signal from the "home Distribution" on the 722? I hope this is clear!

Do I need a converter box with a analog pass-through?

Thanks.:confused:

I am no expert, BUT I would think that nothing would be affected. TV2 will continue to output as TV2 has always outputted.

Since you have a HD capable TV why would you get one of the converter boxes which only go from digital to analog? Even if your locals are not in HD I would go ahead and get a HD set top box which will give you a digital signal for your digital TV.