722 I'm a DVR Newbie

hammerdown

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 14, 2005
Northern California
I've had this 722 for less than 24hrs and I like it a lot. Still trying things out and trying to wrap my brain around single/dual modes, shared view on/off, recording while watching something else. Here's some questions:

How come when I put the box into Single mode the SD outputs change aspect ratio and won't let me use Letterbox mode?

How come when I'm recording an off air show and watching a Sat channel, then I want to go back to that off air show, it has to stop recording? Why not just continue but go into DVR mode?

How long can I pause for? The manual says if it's longer than an hour then use record. What if I have 50hrs of HD space, can I pause for that long?

Thanks for any info...

How come when I'm recording an off air show and watching a Sat channel, then I want to go back to that off air show, it has to stop recording? Why not just continue but go into DVR mode?

That sounds like an oversight by the programmers. They evidently didn't think to check whether you're going to the same OTA channel you're recording on, just assumed you're changing channels on the OTA tuner.

The workaround is to go to the DVR menu and select the program you're recording. You should then get the choice of viewing it as it's being recorded or viewing it from the beginning of the recording. (I say "should" because it works that way when you're recording two satellite channels at once. I can't get any OTA channels but I'm assuming the OTA tuner operates on the same code -- but consistency isn't always a safe assumption with Dish.)

I've never tried to pause for more than an hour, but if that's the time it says you can pause for, I'm assuming that's the length of the DVR buffer -- i.e. you couldn't re-wind a live program for more than an hour either.