mexkhmer

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 16, 2010
Denver
This is so embarrassing, well what happen was I confused my receiver for a 222k for a 722k. am I effing stupid. :mad:

Last edited:
say what

I currently have a 722k without DVR capabilities yet as i have been reading the forum 722k can work as a DVR. So i was wondering if somehow i can upgrade my 722k to be DVR capable or do i have to switch equipment to be able to have DVR functionalities? I know this is a stupid question but I am a newbie with this stuff.

If it's a 722k it's already a DVR. :confused:

OK, your edited question makes much better sense. The answer is that Dish hasn't released any DVR Upgrade firmware for the 222/222k. It's only available for the 211/411/211k. I don't know why this is so.

The technical reason that has been posted somewhere around here is that the USB interface is not capable of handling the traffic that would be necessary to accommodate 2, 3, or 4 tuners during the simultaneous recording of new material and playback of previously recorded material. USB 2.0 only has 2 lanes of traffic. USB 3.0 doubles that and increases the speed dramatically.

I'm with RickDee, and have been saying this on past posts: Dish made a horrible mistake going with USB 2.0 for the 222/222K and I also believe that is why we haven't seen the DVR capability activated on these boxes. It may still be, but it is almost certainly going to be a diminished experience compared with the DVR with built in HDD.

What is so stupid about this is just about every other STB maker has gone with eSATA ports for external operations. Heck, even TiVo went with eSATA on its Series 3 way back in 2006. USB 2.0 is cheaper and ubiquitous, this is probably why Dish went with it for the 222/222K. Still, they should have known better.