811 dummy/newbie needs help

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

dhillii

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 24, 2004
Guys: please excuse my ignorance as I am a newbie on the 811 front.

I have a 811 and a 510 PVR hooked up to the same 16:9 TV. I understand that there is a OTA (what is that, Off The Air?) antenna that can be hooked up to get more HD channels (I live in Dallas)...is this someting that goes on the back of the box or on top of the roof? Can someone recommend a brand/pricing and where to get?

My installer was just as clueless as I am and he rigged the setup with component cables (is DVI the preferred?) thru the COMP-1 for the HD and sent the 510 thru the Vid-1....needless to say, I am switching back and forth...watching the majority of the 510 and flipping back to the 811 for the HD pack only.

I assume there has to be a better way to enjoy my setup without the hassles and would appreciate any suggestions.... :eek:

You can buy an indoor Over The Air antenna, I've read the Silver Sensor is a good choice. I use and outdoor antenna. Both hook up to the 811 using the same coax connection in the back of the 811.

Make sure your TV has a DVI input if you want to use that one. My Samsung DLP TV as both, and I barely notice an improvment of DVI over component for the HD broadcasts.

dhillii said:
Guys: please excuse my ignorance as I am a newbie on the 811 front.