91 Cband and 91 Ku on one dish?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by comfortably_numb, Jan 4, 2019.

  1. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,856
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    So after several weeks of experimenting, I've discovered that I watch 91 for C-band the most. I also spend a lot of time searching wild feeds on the 91 Ku side. Titanium said a dual band C/Ku LNB is not recommended on a 1.2m dish, so I'm curious if anyone else has ever come up with creative ways to do this? On the Geosat Pro 1.2m dish, one must lower the support arms by about 3 inches for the C-band LNB, so I'm wondering if I should try attaching the Ku LNB to the top of the C-band LNB?
     
    raydio likes this.
  2. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,993
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    You'd be better off figuring out how to mate a standard KU lnbf to that dish, in conjunction with your c-band lnbf with scalar.

    I always wondered what would happen IF you drilled a large hole (like a keyhole saw hole) in the appropriate place in your conical scalar, and stuff a ku lnbf in there alongside the c-band one that's in the end of it... You'd need one along these lines, but ATM they are asking way too much for it, compared to what it used to cost. Maybe somebody has one to donate to you, or you can find another model with a real small builtin scalar: Satellite AV, LLC - Satellite Broadcaster Support and Equipment Distribution
     
    raydio likes this.
  3. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,856
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Haha I actually used to have 2 of those bullet LNB's and I sold them! Never thought I'd have another use for them :facepalm
     
  4. raydio

    raydio K4ECP
    Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    741
    Likes Received:
    600
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Play around with it and see if you can come up with some kind of mount...wire tyes work great


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  5. raydio

    raydio K4ECP
    Supporting Founder Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Posts:
    741
    Likes Received:
    600
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM

    I saw that done years ago by someone on this forum I believe and I think it kind of worked


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  6. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,993
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Remember those old larger Dish Network "Superdish" dishes from years ago? The ones pointed at 105w, and also picked up 110 and 119? They also have a very small ku lnbf in there, with a skinny waveguide tube. MAYBE you can get one of those, and see if you can MacGyver a solution...
     
  7. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    583
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    maritimes
    Back in the day, 2004-2007 or so, a guy from the midwest (possibly Kansas) did a lot of mini-bud testing on his 1.2 metre dish. He had posts all over the internet, including the UK. His user name was Walrus 1952?? or 1962??. I searched for some of his posts last week, but didn't find any. They maybe in the archives. Last I heard, his nick changed to Mike on this site.

    Back then he was making his own conical scalers out of aluminum flashing, trying out different formulas. I won't elaborate much more, but at the end he was using his flat scaler on his dish. He even glued a socket on the outside of his scaler which he claimed increased his quality.

    I'm saying this only because your in a similar footprint. I f you truly want to experiment, I would use your flat scaler and put a v-notch or hole in it and give it a try. This way you wouldn't ruin your conical scaler. You may be surprised with Cband results on the flat scaler.

    Catamount
     
  8. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,856
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I believe that Walrus is MikeI

    Where do I cut the notch in the flat scaler? I will definitely try that.
     
  9. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,993
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Close enough to the center hole, but still capable of fitting in the ku lnbf you'll be using. Strap them as close together as you can, almost trying to have BOTH dead center.
     
    comfortably_numb and catamount like this.
  10. catamount

    catamount SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    583
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    maritimes
    I'm highly skeptical it will work, but I would notch it at 12 o'clock. You could spin it around to any position. Tilting the lnb up or down, sideways, whatever? That is the fun part.

    Catamount

    First, of course I would try the flat scaler on your c-band signals to see if you can still get the channels. Everthing was Dvb-s when I was experimenting. Much harder now. Up here, a flat scaler was useless on my one metre.
     
    primestar31 and comfortably_numb like this.
  11. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,856
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Tried the flat scaler on the 1.2m dish. Had a few femarkable results, including boosting the signal quality of the CW mux on 91 to 80%, Shepherd's Chapel on 99 to 100%. But caused Lesea mux to drop to next to nothing. So I think its case-by-case.

    I put the conical scaler back on and blind scanned 91. I really think I'm in the prime focal point, because I scan in 73+ channels.

    Sure would be nice to have a legal FTA pay TV Cband service, because a lot of the channels I want are on 91 and they come in strong but scrambled :(
     
    catamount and raydio like this.
  12. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,856
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    It's almost 60 degrees today so I changed up some things outside. I remembered that 97 is a strong satellite, so I put it as an offset on my 90cm dish. That solves the problem of 91 Ku; it has its own 76cm dish now.

    So now I can see 87 91 97 and 103 Ku and have a dedicated 1.2m for Cband 91 :)

    190B6B5E-6E13-4DA6-8C94-BE06D71BB88F.jpeg
     
    k.r., . Raine, Brct203 and 5 others like this.
  13. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,999
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    85w
    Don't forget your cookie lid on your scalier.
     
    primestar31 and raydio like this.
  14. Need2learn

    Need2learn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
  15. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Topic Starter Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,866
    Likes Received:
    6,856
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    cookie lid??
     
    danristheman likes this.
  16. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,993
    Likes Received:
    4,195
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Yep, snap it over the front of the scalar to keep out bugs... Just have to find one the right size, and they can fit nicely. Drill a tiny little weep hole in the very bottom to let out moisture, but not big enough for a wasp to get in.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...