Status
Please reply by conversation.

sonyajon

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Nov 15, 2009
New Mexico
I'm new to this, but after I set G1, the book says to program the next bird to the West.

But I cannot move my west limit past the default of 5000

I did a master rest and tried again, same thing

I am Linear East and the actuator is mounted on the left side (as I stand behind it). The actuator arm is in the lowered position

Any suggestions to a hobbist?

I have gotten it to move before but nit now

well if its stickin out an inch and you are at G1 i dont see how it would be a linear/east set up. . .but you also said standin behind the dish the jack is on the left side, which is correct for a linear/east.

my dish is currently set up for a linear/east and for me to get G1 my jack will have to FULLY extended.

also the fact that you have to pass count 5000 should means that your dsh is set up for linear/west

what lenght jack are you usin? 18", 24" 36" etc. . .

about the limits with the 4dtv. . .i find that if you dont preset your limits set up that you get that problem so you may want to goto the limits option and set you east/west limits first.

did you set up you most south sat before or is this a dish that was already in use?

Last edited:
It's probably how it is installed initially.

I live west of the Mississippi

This is a new install by a rookie here.

All I did was to hook up the actuator (in the down position), moved the dish on the pole til I got G1 and DC light and programmed it.

Cannot find the right directions other than it says in the manual to program the next bird to the west of G1 which I think is G5

My thinking is (and I don't know) is that the dish (on the pole) should be moved to the farthest east position (AMC5) and begin working it there.

But there is a lot I don't know here, just trying to work a hobby.

Any advice I can provide is much appreciated, thanks

ok here is my advice for you. . .