A bit disappointed and confused!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

drfugawe

Original poster
Feb 2, 2009
SW Oregon
Hey Guys,
Complete newbie here, and preparing to order new DirecTV service. We were very disappointed to learn that Direct did not have the two room single DVRs - are they called "dual mode DVRs? - as does Dish (our old provider). Ques 1 - if we use equip that we buy, can we use a single two room DVR with DirecTV?

And Ques 2 - will DirecTV give us any choices, when we order, of specific equip for our setup? And if yes, what receivers/DVRs should we try to get, and which should we try to avoid?

We are not interested in HD currently, but we need two DVRs (or the equivilent) and we do a lot of recording, and would love lots of hard drive capibitity.

Thanks much for your responses.
john

John,

Welcome to the forum from another newbie. This forum is packed with great info. I've already received answers to several DTV questions here.

Question 2: I'll give you my experience in Dallas: When I upgraded to HD svc this past August, I was told that I'd get "whichever DVR/Receiver that DTV happened to have in the local warehouse at the present time". I wasn't given any choice of equipment. I have the HR22NC-100 Receiver in my main viewing room with the 100 Gig Hard Drive. The 2nd Receiver is the H23NC-600 unit w/out the DVR. I asked the DTV Installer during the installation about multi-room installations but I wasn't interested in looking into that at the time. His answer was "You must have a DTV Receiver for each room install." I don't know if that's factual but someone else here will be able to give you more info on multi-room installs with DVR.

There is no such thing as a multi-room DVR with DirecTV. You will need a receiver or DVR in each room.