a few questions about the Edision OS MIO 4K

Brct203

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 24, 2016
Connecticut
I recently broke the piggy bank and bought the Edision receiver from Bryan. As usual, top notch service, the receiver was delivered in under 48 hours!

I am totally new to Linux-based receivers, and did expect a bit of a learning curve, and there it is... I'm learning new stuff everyday. I did manage to figure out the essentials without much difficulties, and got most satellites scanned in.

There are however a few points that i'm struggling with:

- A few transponders were not detected in blind scans. I know that happens on other receivers too, including on my trusted Amiko Mini HDre. On the Edision, I had to manually enter the NBC transponder on 12080H on 103 Ku, and also the CCTV tp on 55.5W C-band. No big deal, but was wondering if others had similar experiences

- I can't seem to scan in the content of the HIP TV transponder on 37.5W. It's a narrow transponder, and takes about 10 seconds to lock. That's too long and the service scan quits before that. Is there a way to increase the time out on scans? Not that I watch HIP TV, but still...

- I can't lock on the CRI transponder on 45W Ku. Now the SR is 990, so it is below the 1000 lower limit. However the Amiko is able to do it, if I enter the SR as 1000.

- Is there a way to measure the CNR of a signal that is too weak to lock? I know this is no spectrum analyzer, but would be nice, particularly on those TPs that are "almost there"

- I tried the SDR plugin with my RTL-SDR dongle. Worked great on FM stations. Does anyone know of a plugin that would allow the spectrum display like in SDR#? That would be a great way of displaying the satellite beacons.