Actuator arm on 1.2m dish

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

swampman

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 22, 2006
South Louisiana
Due to the weight of a Primestar 1.2 meter(or Channel Master), has anyone ever installed a c-band acuator arm on one? Might be a very cool little setup. ;)

Channel Master 1.2m

I have my Channel Master 1.2m mounted onto a SG2100 H-H motor drive and receive everything from EchoStar 1 and 2 to Hispasat 1C and 1D.

I just used 3/4" plywood and painted it using several layers of outdoor latex paint. The bracket is from a Winegard 56cm dish. It used to get stuck when located below Galaxy10R, but since I re-engineered the board so that most of the weight is on top and bought a lightweight Sadoun 0.4dB LNB the problem has gone away. I am now having no problems tracking the arc.

My only concern is the movement it makes when the wind blows. I don't loose the picture, but the dish does shake being mounted onto a 1 5/8" SG2100 motor shaft. However, if I were to use an actuator I would not be able to get some of the satellites on the other side that I now receive using the SG2100 drive.

I thought about getting the larger replacement shaft for the SG2100 to help the wind load, but have not had time to do so.

Attachments

• Pic_0338.jpg
    Pic_0338.jpg
    222.1 KB · Views: 422
  • Pic_0339.jpg
    Pic_0339.jpg
    214.3 KB · Views: 376
  • Satellite 005.jpg
    Satellite 005.jpg
    122.2 KB · Views: 432