OTHER Acuator info-Need Help-Replacing an old Maspro

Discussion in 'FTA Receiver / Equipment Support' started by mwdxer1, Nov 1, 2018.

  1. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york

     
  2. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york
    No the 6v is for the polarotor and is only there when a polarity change is needed,there is another 12v terminal on the bottom row for a switch.
    The 12v on the top row is for an optical or hall effect,now whether the optical sensor in his actuator can take the 12v is another matter,but I think it can probably take it.
     
  3. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    I could run a resister to knock the voltage down a bit, but it is a standard optical. Nothing special. At least I never ordered anything special at the time. I would guess the voltage doesn't have to be exact. I know walwarts voltage run higher that the posted voltage and they do fine.
     
  4. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york
    I don't think it will be a problem,they likely made the sensor for a fairly wide voltage range,just for the wide variety of positioners that might be used.
    And worst case you have the reed switch motor you can use.
     
  5. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    It quit raining, so I went out and took the cover off the motor and took the photo. Different than I remembered. No red wire connected. Yet there are 5 wires connected to the Maspro, but only 4 on the motor. Two for the motor and a black & blue ones for the sensor. upload_2018-11-7_13-21-33.jpeg
     
  6. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    I presume the Green wire to the receiver runs the 7V? the Black would go to Sensor Return? The Sensor connections on the Supra are: Ground, 12+ DC Sensor Power, Sensor Return, and Ground. I did use an extra wire for ground on the Maspro as I have three wires connected, but I guess that is not needed. It is different than I remember, but it has been a couple decades since I took it apart. It is the optical magnetic wheel. I remembered replacing that with one I bought from USS in the early 90s to give me more clicks for KU. I think I will use the Supra, as I have the original manual for that.
    Thanks again for your help.
     
  7. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york
    You have a reed switch,an optical sensor does not use magnets.
    The red and white wires are for the motor,the black and green are the reed switch.
    The red and white go to M1 and M2.
    The black and green go to SEN and GND (doesn't matter which wire goes where,it's just a switch),do not hook anything to the 12v it is not needed and it will ruin the reed switch if you hook it to it.
    Any shield grounds should be grounded to the receiver not the arm.
     
  8. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    Thank you. The Reed Switch in the other motor doesn't seem to have the wheel though. This look easier than I thought. So not power other than the power is needed. Good. I am glad I asked. It has been year since I have had to reset the arc too and find all of the birds once again. This will be quite the undertaking to say the least.
     
  9. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york
    Well take a pic of that and we'll take a look.
    Read thru the sat set up in the manual a couple times before you start,then plan on spending an hour or two getting it all programmed again.
     
  10. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    There is a plastic wheel with metal pieces around the wheel upload_2018-11-8_21-27-56.jpeg
     
  11. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    An hour or two? I wish! But finding all of the birds across the arc is not going to be easy. I do have a list of the numbers from the old Maspro on where they were, but I am sure the Supra will have a different number of clicks between the birds. Like between 103 and 101, I got 10 numbers (clicks). The Supra will probably be different. The Dish is sitting on G16 as I moved it out of the winds, then the receiver switch died. I have the Supra in place and plugged it in, checked the remote with new batteries and everything looks fine so far. I have not hooked up the connections as yet. Thanks again.
     
  12. Trust

    Trust SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    143
    Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    four separate magnets
     

    Attached Files:

    FTA4PA likes this.
  13. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york
    That's the wheel and those are the magnets,it's just different from the other one.
     
  14. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york
    Okay,a day(week) or two :devilish
     
  15. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    Good. Now to get it hooked up and see if I can get the unit going. I plugged in the Uniden Supra and it came on fine and the remote works. It has been sitting for a good 10 years in the backroom along with the GI. Is there a memory battery in the Supra I need to be concerned about? Some receivers have them. The Maspro did not. Thank you again.
     
  16. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york
    I'm pretty sure no,I believe they used a non volatile memory for the settings.
     
  17. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    I got it wired tonight. I will check it all out in the next day or two. I believe you said it did not matter if I switched to pulse wires, so I am keeping my fingers crossed. No connection to a 12v. Motor hook up #1 Red #2 White. No issue there. I also have to figure out how to run the Supra. In looking at the manual, it is different than the USS Maspro. Thanks again.
     
  18. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    northern new york
    Correct,with the reed switch it doesn't matter as it is just a switch.
    Also,if the dish moves in the wrong direction,east instead of west say,just swap the M1/M2 wires.
    As I recall there is a bit of a learning curve with the Unidens,but once you get it set up they're not too hard to operate.
     
  19. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    I could have hooked up the GI 550i instead, but the Uniden was easier to get to in the back room. With the Maspro which was different than most satellite receivers at the time, a commercial unit. I had to figure that out. The Maspro motor wires were #1 Red #2 While and I wired the Uniden the same way. I will try to check it out later today. I will post my results. Much appreciated.
     
  20. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    This afternoon I clicked on the Supra and the only thing I had to change was to switch the motor wires. I set the limits, so far so good. At least I have made it that far. Ran out of time as I had to go out on a service call 30 miles away (I'm a Locksmith), so the rest will have to wait. Hopefully tomorrow. Thanks so much again. By the way,it looks like I may have about the same number of counts. If so, finding the birds should not be too hard, just time consuming.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...