Adding new Receiver, without increasing contract?

Status
Please reply by conversation.
O

orthopod

Jan 6, 2008
Newbie here, did a lot of reading, used the search function, couln't find my answers...SO............

I have Direct TV in Atlanta. Already have 4 receivers, some mirrored. Our committment

Have a guest in a bedroom, going to be with us until May, when we all move into our new house, an area that DOES NOT have direct TV.

we want o get another receiver...called directTV, they wanted to extend our contract ANOTHER year, even though we explained in 5 months, we will be moving (they said essentially "tough", you'll have to pay the extra cancellation fees for the 7 months that you breach contract).

I have 2 questions:

1) Is there a way to buy a receiver second hand with a direct TV card, and use it in the guest room? We already have service coming in...I dont mind payng an extra $5.00.

2) Our two year obligation with them is finished next month, is there a month to month option that anyone is aware of?

thanks!!

iwc5893

iwc5893

SatelliteGuys Pro
Feb 1, 2007
The desert of WA, zip code EIEIO
Newbie here, did a lot of reading, used the search function, couln't find my answers...SO............

I have Direct TV in Atlanta. Already have 4 receivers, some mirrored. Our committment

Have a guest in a bedroom, going to be with us until May, when we all move into our new house, an area that DOES NOT have direct TV.

we want o get another receiver...called directTV, they wanted to extend our contract ANOTHER year, even though we explained in 5 months, we will be moving (they said essentially "tough", you'll have to pay the extra cancellation fees for the 7 months that you breach contract).

I have 2 questions:

1) Is there a way to buy a receiver second hand with a direct TV card, and use it in the guest room? We already have service coming in...I dont mind payng an extra $5.00.