aiming the dish please help

meat321

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 14, 2005
Hello Im new to dish this is my first system got it from a friend who upgraded to dtv but it still has a month of service on it would like to use it. Now for the problem I got the dish up and the coax run then did the aiming ok i have a 125 % sinal on 110 but cant get 119 to lock just says wrong sat ecostar 110. This is a dish 500 legacy twin setup (I did my homework before posting) I've tryed to realign the dish all directings but get nothing from 119 please advise. Oh yea my zip is 55051. I've done dtv for the last 8 years since they started but this is a new world for me hitting to sats is kind of a b@#ch. thanks for the help in advance

Damn...you just a little bit up the road from me (well, hour and a half or so) :)

Easiest thing to do
-unhook cable and run check switch to clear everything out
-if your looking from behind the dish, cover the right "eye" with tinfoil. This way you will only be looking for 119 :)

-make sure elevation, azimuth, and skew are right (you cvan get this off the install screen)

Once you hit 119, remove the tinfoil and run check switch. If the skew is right, you shouldn't have any issues getting both.

I get 33.3 for elevation and 109.4 for skew (the one on the left should be higher...again looking from behind) for your area.

Ok now im confused if I have to cover one side and they are not connected am I missing a piece that connects the 2. Another friend has dish and he has a piece that the lnbs hook to prior to entering the house

Ok sorry about the dumb question there I figured out the switch is built in. Now the fun part, I cover the right side and it changes nothing. but i cover the left side or 119 and i lose signal this makes sense to why the receiver says wrong sat but now I have to figure out why this happened

meat321 said: