Altice One

Discussion in 'Cable and Fiber Providers' started by Cobra611, Feb 8, 2018.

  1. Cobra611

    Cobra611 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    Has anyone used the new Altice One setup for Optimum??
     
  2. Cobra611

    Cobra611 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    Well, even with hearing some negative things regarding the new Altice One boxes, I decided to take a chance. All my promotions ended with DirecTV and was having a few technical hiccups, both of which had me wanting to try the new equipment with Optimum. Install was yesterday. Tech was here nearly 3 hours, having to run a few new cables. Once install was complete, I told him I would be able to figure things out, so he could head out...it was almost 6pm. So far, I am enjoying it. The UI on these boxes is clear and runs smoothly. Scrolling through the guide is very easy. The voice command function works great. Just say a channel or program, and it switches right away. Watched a few minutes of Olympic coverage in 4K and wasn't too impress. But, then again, I haven't been blown away by 4K in general. Unless I'm at Best Buy watching the OLED sets running 4K content. Still trying to figure out how to do a few things in regard to the remote, like trying to open the guide with just one button press. Currently, you have to hit the home button, then scroll over to guide. It's nice having the Netflix app easily available. I'll try to get back here once I figure out more stuff.
     
    spiderman865 likes this.
  3. Cobra611

    Cobra611 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    Well, having had the new Altice One equipment for a month now, I can honestly say, I'm enjoying it. All the boxes respond quickly to command. The guide layout and UI is pretty good as well. While it's not directed at the new equipment, I am a little disappointed in the picture quality. I'm fairly certain they are bandwidth issues. For example, when watching the Rangers on MSG, the picture isn't nearly as good as it was on DirecTV. When the camera moves quickly from each end of the rink, there's very noticeable banding and pixelation. Same for some other channels.
     
  4. Tampa8

    Tampa8 I'll Stand Up and Say So
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    15,096
    Likes Received:
    4,586
    Location:
    Tampa/Eastern Ct
    I see in places like Digitrends Altice One new equipment gets good reviews.

    Regarding fast moving scenes same problem I see on my neighbor's Charter/Brighthouse service when we watch some - not all - fast moving scenes. His response when he first watched a game at my house (DISH) was the picture is better. Your assessment of 4K is spot on and it probably isn't their 4K that is not "wow" it is that way overall. There's a difference but not night and day over 1080 for most things, and not like the huge upgrade from SD to HD. Some of the Amazon 4K is an improvement if you sit close enough, and the colors and overall picture is better but more because of HDR.
     
    Cobra611 likes this.
  5. Cobra611

    Cobra611 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    Quick update...Altice One boxes have slowed down just a bit. Pulling up the guide, and scrolling through, sometimes freezes before it moves on. I've had to do a couple of reboots because the box just froze up completely. To this point, I'm still happy with the service in general.
     

***
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice

Separate names with a comma.

More...