Amazon Movie Audio - Any options? Also another question...

bhelms

Retired & lovin' it!
Original poster
Lifetime Supporter
Feb 26, 2006
Central PA
Hi all. I'm new to this streaming stuff. Since I'm an Amazon Prime member I figured I should try to get the most out of it, so I've been watching movies for the past few weeks using my new laptop as the "server". It's connected to my A/V receiver via HDMI. I'm quite surprised that I can watch the HD content in "real time" with virtually no glitches over my slowest-possible DSL. The video quality is not the best but acceptable, more like "HD-lite". (I can see a difference between an HD and SD version of the same movie.)

I'm sure some of those movies are rendered in 5.1 SS audio, but my A/V receiver is not indicating that it's receiving SS and I can't discern anything other than L/R stereo. Is there some Amazon setting I need to adjust? So far I haven't found anything. (Note to self - make sure the HDMI 6 input on the receiver isn't set for just 2-ch reproduction - just thought of that!) Or maybe this is a HW limitation with my Vaio 'puter?

Also - About 20 mins. into any movie, the video drops back from full screen. I then need to click the full screen icon again, and I get a dialog box asking if I want to watch in full screen (d'uuhhh!). Once I click "yes" it stays in full screen for the duration. How can I make stay in full screen from the beginning? (I don't know what the "pop out" function does - is that my answer?)

Tks all!

I'm enjoying my "free" movies immensely otherwise...!