ASC1 Users

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by lme, Apr 7, 2016.

  1. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,673
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Are talking about the add-on's listed on the Titanium website?
    If so those are not required add-on's, they are suggestions for different situations.
    Also I have never seen a job where I needed every one.
    I have been a satellite dish tech for many years, and I carry all kinds of stuff on the truck.
    Every situation is different. Most of the time you install things and they just work.
    There are times however that for whatever reason you have interference or noise on a line.
    Most recently it was the fact that the dish was installed the next lot over from an AM radio tower, pumping out some serious wattage.
    Had to install bypass capacitors on everything!
    Other times just one or two caps here and there will usually do the trick.
    If proper shielded cable is used and only tied to earth ground on one side or the other, most issues are not there to begin with or will go away when done properly.
    These suggestions are suggestions that would apply to ANY controller and not just the ASC1.
    Just ask a buddy of mine that lives down the road, he is a retired C-Band tech. Installed thousands of C-Band dishes.
    He also taught me a lot of tricks that I never thought of.

    You have a very unique problem here. Hard to troubleshoot over the computer, and not knowing the whole story.
    If one of us could be at your house, we might see something that you would not even think about. Like a commercial transmitter near by or something.
     
    norman881 and Titanium like this.
  2. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,505
    Likes Received:
    6,898
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Thanks KE4EST, great points. Thanks!

    A servo related problem on your system would explain why the Vbox had no control issues as it does not have any connection for a servo circuit.

    Help me make sense of this finding... In the previous post you indicated that the servo wires were disconnected from the ASC1 as per my earlier suggestion for the testing, but the motor movement errors remained. Removing the servo wires from the controller would have identified the problem to the distribution, the servo or an inline component. Disconnecting the servo wires from the controller would have removed the faulty capacitor from the testing equation. Does the servo wire bundle have its own shield? Is the shield connected to the ground terminal at the controller? Is the shield connected to ground at the dish? Or connected to ground at both the controller and the dish?

    The majority of systems do not require any add-on capacitors or resistors. KE4EST is right, as a satellite technician we carried a toolbox full of capacitors, resistors, etc. Most motor positioning errors would be traced to a faulty ground, corroded connections, switch bounce and noise generated by the servo or actuator motors. Usually a single capacitor between the offending component and ground cleaned-up the noise and proper positioning would be restored.

    As a general rule, satellite systems rarely require a capacitor across the polarity servo wires as most polarity servo systems have quality servo motors with an internal capacitor, while the cheaper "no name" servo motors do not. For interest, Google "Servo, Capacitor" and you will find that capacitors are widely used with servos, especially now that they are so common in automation and robotics. Curious, what brand of servo is installed on the feedhorn? This is a replacement for the original servo that failed?

    The purpose of testing with the cheater plug was not to identify a faulty plug, but rather to lift the ASC1 ground to isolate your satellite dish wiring terminating in your home from the structure ground. Good to know that the ground lifter had no effect! This eliminates one more potential cause for the component failures.
     
    #22 Titanium, Apr 13, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2016
    primestar31 likes this.
  3. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I've had a lot of trouble with the limits, also, along with loss of serial port access resulting in a factory reset to get the ASC1 going again. I've searched through other postings with troubleshooting info but have never been able to resolve the problem. I have 2 C-band dishes and it happens on both of them. So, I have finally put up my ASC1 up for sale at ebay. Maybe someone else will have better luck with it. Obviously, some people are happy with their ASC1.
     
  4. norman881

    norman881 SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    637
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Washington State
    I've had one since 2013 and have never had a single issue.
     
  5. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,673
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Slow news day?
     
    norman881 likes this.
  6. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,505
    Likes Received:
    6,898
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Do you want technical support? If so, we are here to help. Email or call. We have repeatedly offered for you to send the unit in for testing. www.satelliteguys.us/xen/threads/asc1-positioner-controller-end-of-production-notice.382305/#post-4369448

    www.satelliteguys.us/xen/threads/vbox2-er2.379045/#post-4296261
    If the serial port is left connected to a computer, serial commands from the computer will interrupt ASC1 operation until the ASC1 is power cycled. ASC1 interrupts will not happen if the serial cable is disconnected or the port is disabled on the PC when not in use.

    If this is just an announcement that you are selling, link to the Ebay listing. Maybe someone here would be interested in a good deal.
     
    #26 Titanium, Sep 8, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
    norman881, KE4EST and EmCommSat like this.
  7. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,673
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    EM75xb
    I was thinking the same thing. What is the link to eBay for this listing?
     
  8. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,865
    Likes Received:
    3,962
    Location:
    Montana
  9. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,673
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Magic Static likes this.
  10. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    42N 103W
    No it wouldn't. A new one is $180. Besides, this thing is in virtually new condition.
     
  11. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,673
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Sorry didn't mean to offend. I didn't know it was your listing. ...but $135 + $44.50 shipping = $179.80.
    New they are $175 free shipping and have been for years.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  12. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    42N 103W
    Someone can make me an offer. Besides, there's no such thing as free shipping but there is such a thing as included shipping in the price. I have a used LinkBox 9000i for sale also.
     
  13. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,673
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    EM75xb
    I am well aware of how it works. ;)
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...