Assistance would be greatly appreciated

ronananda

Original poster
Nov 19, 2010
72W 41N
To start with, I am a complete newbie novice at this hobby. I lurked in here last fall, trying to pick up as much information I could before I launched into the project of trying to set my system up.
This is my second post. My first I mis-posted in the sticky section, and Radar kindly responded to that question very fully. It had to do with USALs, setting up the motor to know where I was.
I have a Sadoun 90t dish, combined with a powertech 380 motor to drive it. I have an invacom QPH-031 lnb. I have one diseque switch to absorb the two rg6 connections coming off of the Invacom, into a single rg6 to the powertech, and then about 70 feet of rg6 to my azbox hd premium plus receiver. I am running an hdmi from the receiver directly into the tv.

I am at Lo 72w, Lat 41 n (on the end long island, new york).
I mounted the dish on my roof, about 20' off the ground. The mast is 2" galvanized pipe. The pipe is lag screwed into 4x4 post that I mounted flush to the side of my house. I was very careful about installing the mast, and I can say with authority that it is dead plumb all the way around.
I set the lattitude on the motor, and made the compensation on the dish elevation. I started at true south, which for me is magnetic 194 degrees.
It did take some fine tuning still, but with the little satellite finder, I have reached the point now where I am getting good signals on all the satellites that I am attempting to hit.
I have found that when I first go to a satellite in azbox, that I do not have quality on any transponders. But if I blind scan the satellite, I have very good quality on most of the transponders, ranging from 87 to 100 percent.
Initially, I just said "yes", and downloaded the whole satellite, and got hundreds of stations. All scrambled except for "amber", and "info". I was pleased that I saw my first picture, a movie preview station for a canada service.