AU9 5LNB For Tailgating

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ryanh6447

Original poster
Sep 22, 2010
Alabama
I am a newbie to the satellite world but tailgate for all the Alabama games. I really want to start getting HD so I can see all of the other football games just like at home. The installers I am looking to buy the dish from are trying to turn me away by saying the the AU9 5 LNB satellite is too hard to setup. Does anybody use this dish for tailgating and if so is there any trouble finding the satellites. Thanks in advance for the response.

I have a smaller 3lnb dish (101/110/119) and put a slimline3 LNB on it. It gets 101 in the high 80's, and 99/103 in the mid-70s with minimal tuning. Have it down to about 5 minutes to setup after some practice.

I know many other people here have used this type of setup for tailgating or camping.

On a side note I kept forgetting the BBC, since my athome config is SWM and my road config is not.
I got mad and decided to put the BBC permenantly in the LNB arm. Needless to say it was slightly too big.
I spend a half hour lightly tapping it (and at times more than lightly) with a hammer and some pliers, eventaully got it in and happily it still worked.

Attachments

• IMAG0008[1].jpg
    IMAG0008[1].jpg
    131.7 KB · Views: 95
the direct tv people told me that i need the 5 lnb to get the hd channels. and do i need the bbc if i am just going straight to the receiver?

the direct tv people told me that i need the 5 lnb to get the hd channels. and do i need the bbc if i am just going straight to the receiver?

IF your using a slimline 3 or 5 you WILL need your BBC's if you want to get your HD channels. (unless your using a H/HR23 recvr.)

IF your close enough to get your locals and your locals are on the 119 sat would be the only reason you would really NEED the 5 lnb set up.
The HD channels are on the 99 or 109 sat and they are on the 3 lnb dish, so whichever dish is easier for you to get would be fine.