Bad LNB???

Status
Please reply by conversation.

swandive76

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2009
Montana
I have a Directv setup using the SL5-SWM SlimLine Single Wire Ka/Ku Five LNB With Built-In Multiswitch (SL5-SWM). I have been using this for about 18 months now and have just started having some problems with it.

Ive started getting the 771a error quite regularly and Im trying to figure out what is going on. Until now whenever I could get the error I could go out to the dish and jiggle the cabling and I would be back up again. I have checked all my connections and cabling and everything seems to be ok. But I would still get the errors. Funny thing was I would only get these errors when the outside temp would rise above freezing.

As I said I have always been able to get the signal back again until today. Now I have the same error and no matter what I do I cant get rid of it. Today I took a 100' RG6 cable and ran it directly from the LMB through the Power Inserter and then into the receiver and still had no luck.

So to me it must be either the Receiver (H22) the PI (PI-21) or the above mentioned LMB.

Im interested in your thoughts

Thanks for reading this!

Swandive

Can you post your signal levels for all of the satellites?

You've checked the connections, but have you replaced them ?
Mainly the ones outside.
I'm thinking your probably in the right direction with the LNB, you mentioned you could Wiggle the connection at the dish and it would come back ?.
I would replace the connection at that point first and check it.
sounds like a loose connection or one that is getting water in it (also possibly the LNB at this point, same issues.)

When the temps are low enough the water freezes and the trouble goes away ...
When they rise, the water liquefies and your getting water in your connection somewhere, same situation at the LNB as well.

Is this your only recvr, do others also have this problem ?