1. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    southeast
    I've been having problems with my OTA setup now for some time and just decided a while back not to do anything with it until after the "repack" was finished. Well, "repack" was done last week and I'm getting even less channels than before so it's time to do something.

    Question on baluns, so do these things either work or not at all? What I mean is can they work halfway and make you think there is something else wrong?

    The picture below is of the antenna on my roof and notice it's got one of those square baluns bolted on it that looks like it's made specifically for that antenna. I was on the roof last year and replaced and waterproofed the coax connection again and while I was up there I took the cover off that thing and it appeared to have had water in it at some point?? Still working half way mind you, which is why I asked about that.

    antenna1.jpg
     
  2. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,586
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Although it may be a problem with your antenna is it possible that the repack was done and some of your stations are not yet running at full power? I have seen several posts here where someone could not receive a channel they did before and found that the station was temporarily operating at reduced power. :)
     
  3. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    northern WEST new york
    They are prone to rust/corrosion/tarnish,or the screws/nuts get loose.Take it apart,clean it up and see what happpens.It may or not be your problem.Just pay attention as you take it apart,so you put it back together right.
     
  4. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    southeast
    So last year I bought one of those round baluns that has the twin lead out of one end of it and it looks like it would be a PITA to make that work as far as mounting is concerned. Yeah, I can mount it but is compatibility a possible issue if I decide to change out the original one??? I don't want to go to the trouble to change it out if the new round one isn't compatible with that antenna??
     
  5. jorgek

    jorgek SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    Near Toronto
    That balun in the little black box is actually a tiny PCB board. Not much to wear out or fail. Any 300/75 ohm will work.
    I replaced the black box on my CM 4221 HD with the same as you mention and the VHF reception improved quite a bit.
     
  6. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    Regarding the repack itself, most of the stations are finished and at full power, except for WDBJ at low power and WZBJ-CD which is off the air. And WSET doesn't move until next year, but I don't expect WSET to be a difficult problem for you anyway.

    - Trip
     
  7. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    southeast
    I was really hoping I could get WZBJ 24.1/2/3 because Decades is on one of those and we do record/watch that every day on satellite? So is WZBJ completely off the air or just temporarily off and will be back some time soon?
     
  8. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    WZBJ-CD went off late on Wednesday evening and was expecting to be off the air for at least 48 hours. They're doing equipment replacement and should come back up on RF19, hopefully some time over the weekend, though I know nothing beyond what was in the article on WDBJ's website.

    But note that since WCAV in Charlottesville hasn't moved yet, you may or may not experience interference until WCAV vacates RF19. WCAV is waiting for WVIR before it can move, and WVIR's new antenna has yet to be delivered.

    - Trip
     
    Lone Gunman likes this.
  9. lfp302

    lfp302 SatelliteGuys Pro Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Posts:
    683
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Colorado
    I've had one balun work better than another wrt FM radio reception even though they were same part number and manufacturer.
     
  10. waylew

    waylew SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    northern WEST new york
    As has been said,you can use the round one but mounting could be a pain.Myself,I'd just take the box apart and make sure everything is clean and tight and put that back.
     
  11. Larry1

    Larry1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Port Hope, ON Canada
    Water inside the balun will cause problems, may it be corrosion or just lower signal. The solder connections inside the balun may become bad if water has been sitting inside it. If it is not sealed, then there should be a small drain hole for the water to exit. Different baluns will have different amounts of attenuation, even of the same part number as pointed out by lfp302.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  12. Wireless Engineer

    Wireless Engineer SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Ohio
    I simply coat the PCB with Loctite non corrosive RTV.
     
    navychop and charlesrshell like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...