BC, Canada FTA

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Jexhed, Sep 10, 2019.

  1. Jexhed

    Jexhed Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malakwa
    Hi Guys, not sure if this is the correct forum to ask this but I am sure someone will let me know if it's not.
    I am from Australia and currently holidaying in Malakwa, BC Canada for 2 months and the house is equipped with a Shaw direct dish, see attached LNB photo but no set top box.
    Is it possible to access FTA TV in BC, if so what equipment i.e. set top box do I need to access FTA TV ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,865
    Likes Received:
    3,962
    Location:
    Montana
    :welcome to the forum jexhed
    I moved your post to the correct forum :)
     
  3. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,673
    Likes Received:
    5,013
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Welcome to SatelliteGuys Jexhed.

    If I remember correctly, you need to set your LO to 10750 and turn 22kHz on to get that dish/LNBF to work with a FTA receiver.
     
  4. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,661
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    The Amiko receivers are good for someone starting out in FTA. Current model is the Amiko MIni HD 265. You can get one here. :)

    Amiko Mini HD265 FTA Receiver DVB-S2 H.265 HEVC With NTP 5999883023525 | eBay
     
    #4 FTA4PA, Sep 10, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 11, 2019
    KE4EST likes this.
  5. iccoldbeer

    iccoldbeer Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Canada
    That lnb is a xku triple extended. Uses 2nd lo on 107w. F1r lo is 10073. G1 also on 107w and f2 at 111w are standard 10750 lo. If i remember correctly, haven't played with DCII fp/zk on ku side lately.
     
  6. ftageekyyc

    ftageekyyc SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Posts:
    221
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Both ends of the QE2, Alberta, Canada
    If the dish is no longer in active use, and/or the homeowner doesn't mind you repointing the dish, search the forum for some of the discussions about four degree apart sats. For temporary use a FTA receiver and that dish should get you 97/101 with minimal fiddling.

    Edit -

    DOH! - Been out of regular use of FTA for a while, forgot there is nothing to see at 101 any more.
     
    #6 ftageekyyc, Sep 24, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2019

Separate names with a comma.

More...