OTHER Best Blind Scan Receiver

Discussion in 'FTA Receiver / Equipment Support' started by Pastorjakes, Jul 29, 2018.

  1. Pastorjakes

    Pastorjakes Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Alabama
    Can someone tell me of a good KU Fta receiver that has a good blind scan and also works well with usal. My receivers are outdated coolsat and nfusion. I need to upgrade asap thanks.
     
  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,845
    Likes Received:
    6,834
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    In my opinion, the Amiko receivers do a fantastic job of blind scanning and they are FAST.

    I have a lightly used Amiko RE I could sell you to help you out. If interested, send me a PM.
     
  3. mc6809e

    mc6809e SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Central North Carolina
    I also recommend the Amiko receivers. If you don't need a 4K receiver, I'd go with an Amiko Mini HD265 to get the latest h.265 capability.

    KE4EST can help you with that.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,845
    Likes Received:
    6,834
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Bought both my Amiko’s from KE4EST

    Great guy :)
     
    KE4EST likes this.
  5. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I don't know how these receivers can do a complete/true blindscan in less than 30 minutes. I've been playing with a C program that I wrote and in order for it to catch all active transponders it takes about 30 minutes. That's just for one satellite. Of course, some STB receivers come with active transponders already programmed in, which makes scanning faster. But, to answer your question, I can't recommend a receiver. The only way anyone can recommend a receiver is if they could afford and test every make and model out there. But, I'd stay away from the Android models. I haven't found one that works properly or as advertised. Linux based models don't always work properly either but I'd rather have one of those. I'm still using my Azbox Elite with a PCIe on the Azbox loopout port. Not the best but at least they both have their time updated via NTP instead of via satellite transponders (some of which are nowhere near the correct time). In most cases, you won't know how good the STB is until you buy it, install it, and use it.
     
  6. kittyhas1000legs

    kittyhas1000legs That's a lot of claws!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Posts:
    1,468
    Likes Received:
    912
    Location:
    Western Slope, CO
    I only have experience with the X2 Premium Mini and the Linkbox 9000i. They're both good at catching any Ku transponders, but the Linkbox is SLOW. Like, tell it to start 103w, go make a sandwich, pour yourself a beer, then sit down for lunch and see how far it's gotten.
     
  7. SatPhreak

    SatPhreak SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    928
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    My outdated microHD, that is no longer for sale can scan a sat in 10 minutes. My year old V8 scans in about 4-5 minutes.
    I do not recommend a V8, they have a horrible user interface.


    Sent from my LG-M153 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  8. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,381
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Location:
    EM75xb
    That is not a blind scan, that is a quick scan of pre-programmed transponders.

    Also, hardware blindscan is much faster than a software one. ;)
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  9. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    42N 103W
    As for hardware blindscan, from one article:

    "In recent times, American tuner chip manufacturers have been turning off hardware blindscan or not providing support for this function. The most likely reason for this is to prevent FTA satellite enthusiasts from finding unscrambled wild feeds that are being resold by American Cable and Satellite companies. [​IMG] Fortunately, with the much faster linux decoders available today and intelligent programming, we can rely solely on software blindscan instead!"

    So, that tells me that I need to improve my programming skills.I have been trying to figure out how to do hardware blindscan - from what I can tell, you need software to make it happen.
     
  10. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,381
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Please post link if you post a quote. Not because I necessarily want it, but because it is the law.

    That quote does not make much sense. A blind scan is a blind scan. Whether done by external software or hard coded software(firmware, ie Hardware blind scan). Also, from my experience, this is not true at all. Some do not include hardware blindscan for various reasons(ie. cheaper and less programming required). Most now are just grabbing off the shelf chips that are mainly made for streaming boxes and using them in satellite receivers. This is the main reason a Hardware Blind Scan is not included in the chip-set. However, many actually STB manufacturers, still do.
     
  11. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    42N 103W
    I have to ask, what law is that? Or is it a forum policy?

    Anyway: --->Tutorial 6(a): Software Blindscan - TVROSat
     
  12. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,381
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Copyright laws. It has been that way forever.
    Understand, I was not trying to be a smart butt.
    If quotes do not include a link to them, I have to remove the post.
    This keeps the site out of trouble.
     
    Lone Gunman likes this.
  13. johnnynobody

    johnnynobody SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Posts:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    42N 103W
  14. PBSer

    PBSer SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't have experience with the Amiko (Mini HD, Mini HD SE or Micro HD) or AZbox; but, lean towards one of these as a next receiver. My experience is with X2 Premium and X2 X-Square; which I have no plan to get another X2. The blind scan works fine on the X2; but, doesn't save the user-setup schedule when power is lost.
     
  15. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    6,845
    Likes Received:
    6,834
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Amiko HD.265 is a good one. That’s what I use
     
  16. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,381
    Likes Received:
    4,726
    Location:
    EM75xb
    The Amiko Mini HD , Mini HD SE, and Micro HD is no longer made. Same goes for AZbox, they have not been made officially in years. The current Amiko is the MINI HD265.
     
  17. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    southeast
    Yup, most don't understand this, but, a quote posted without a link to the original source is considered copyright infringement!!
     
  18. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    Does the Amiko support QPSK,8PSK,16APSK & 32APSK demodulation?
     
  19. PBSer

    PBSer SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Texas
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  20. wvman

    wvman SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Posts:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Location:
    N. Central WV
    I've meant to ask this question and keep forgetting. How much stuff is up there that actually requires 16APSK & 32APSK demodulation? Last year there was one MUX that was running ITC that required it, but I am not aware of how extensive its use is. When I look at the specs on a receiver I'm interested in, I always look to see if it support them. I'm looking at getting the Amiko Mini with the HD265 from you, but I'm completely unfamiliar with it.

    I know this is a shot in the dark, but the channels in the LAFF MUX that won't come on has me wondering if they possibly switched to HD265 when they went HD. None of the receivers I have supports it. Is that possible? Also, is there additional remotes available for the Amiko Mini's?
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...