Birdog Help

Kipabiskau

Original poster
Sep 28, 2022
Saskatchewan Canada
Hello everyone. I am a new member and am looking for some support. I Own a Birdog USB Sat finder that is no longer supported by perfect 10. They have supplied me with the software used to create unique transponder definitions so as I can possible still use the finder. The Software is Birdog SatEdit V1.23 along with the user manual. I have little to no knowledge about satellite transponders.
Where I live, we use two main service providers Shaw Direct from Anik F1 107 W and AnikF2 111.1W . As well Bell Tv from Nimq 4 and Nimq 6.
From research I need to find the unique satellite definitions for Anik F2 and Nimq 6 in order to build the transponders definitions in the software so as to load them into my Birdog USB finder.
By the software instructions I will need the following parameters to build the transponder definitions.

Frequency
Polarization
Symbol Rate
Code Rate (FEC)I
IQ Swap
FEC Mode

The Software manual has given a lot of information about these perimeters but I don't understand IQ Swap and FEC Mode.
The manual also makes a highlighted note as follows.
"The Birdog will acquire a lock on DVB_S QPSK and DSS modulated carriers. The following modulations are not supported DVB-S2, DVB-SD , DVB-S2 ACM, VCM and CCM and DigiCipher II .

I don't understand any of this information except to say I think that different carriers may operate off the same satellite and may have different modulations as noted above but don't know for sure.
Can anyone help me with the parameters as noted above so in hopes that I can build the transponder definitions that will LOCK on my meter when I am sighting the dish.
Just for information Perfect 10 did supply in the past a list files to download. The Anik F2 profile from Perfect 10 used to lock on my meter but no longer does. I do get a raw signal indication on the meter but there is no LOCK indication