Black spaces on screen

landon1937

Original poster
Dec 9, 2010
usa
I have just upgraded my tv to a HD Sony KDL-46EX400 and Dish to HD with the VIP222K receiver.
My question is: Does everyone have about 2" wide black space at the top and bottom of the screen? I watch some programs such as Fox News and it is that way almost all the time except when some commercials are on.
I was wondering if it is the Dish Network, the TV or the programming?
I can make it full screen but some of the picture will not showing on both sides and the quality of picture declines. I have tried every adjustment I can find on the TV and on Dish to correct this.
While visiting the local McDonalds for a good hot cup of coffee they had Fox News on one of their Sony TV and the same blank space was at the top and bottom like mine.
As you can see, I am a novice at this.

The black bands at top and bottom make what is called a "letterbox". This is necessary to show a 16:9 picture on a 4:3 screen. McDonalds probably had an SD feed of an HD Fox News which would cause this, or else they didn't finish configuring their TV.

Are you using one of the two HD outputs of your 222? These are HDMI (best) or component. Once you have HD outputs connected to your Sony, then you should make sure you told your 222 that you have a widescreen TV. You will never see HD on coax, S-video, or composite connections. Finally, there is a double-inventory of most HD channels: one in SD and one in HD. Are you certain you are viewing the HD version?

My hd tv is connected by way of coax. That was the way it was set up before I got the hd. The tech never said that I needed to set it any different.