Buy Online or from a local dealer?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

buchaneer

Original poster
Nov 21, 2007
I'm totally new to this "Hobby" so I'm shopping. What's recommended in online vs local dealer purchases? Is it better to get in at the HD level or start with something cheaper?:confused:

Take a look at SatelliteGuys GOLD Sponsors at the top of the page.

Do you have any idea in what equipment you want to purchase? (Dish size etc.)

It might be better to start out with a SD receiver and if you like FTA or once your more experienced you can move on to a HD receiver. If you have a fast computer and don't mind using it you can also buy a DVB card for your computer to pick up HD and 4:2:2.

You should also expect with FTA there are a lot of feeds, programing that you have to search for, there are many constant channels but most of them are international. FTA is not like Dish Network or DirecTV where specific channels are always available.

I'm totally new to this "Hobby" so I'm shopping. What's recommended in online vs local dealer purchases? Is it better to get in at the HD level or start with something cheaper?:confused:

I would say if you can afford it, get an HD. If you start with SD, you are going to end up wanting an HD anyway. Then you end up buying two receivers and spending more money. If you're a sports fan looking for feeds you won't be able to watch the HD feeds with an SD only box.

I agree . . .

Ya didn't say where you are located.
If you're near someone we know, we'll send you right over. :)

If you do find a "local" dealer, make sure he has a broad line of equipment and supplies.
That way you have more choices.

If you are at all handy with tools, the install isn't too hard, and you can do it yourself.
The nice members here have helped many find their way to FTA satisfaction...and in some cases: addiction. :)
...so, a local dealer/installer isn't necessary.