Buying and Replacing Joey to Save Monthly Fee

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Soonersmith, Jan 25, 2018.

  1. Soonersmith

    Soonersmith Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Shellsburg, Iowa
    can I just buy a joey off the internet and just replace the one I have without involving dish? will this work?

    thx
     
  2. dare2be

    dare2be SatelliteGuys God Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    12,112
    Likes Received:
    6,633
    Location:
    FL
    the fee is an outlet fee, not a lease fee, so it's the same fee whether leased from Dish or owned outright.
     
  3. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,791
    Likes Received:
    10,228
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    No, every receiver must be activated by Dish.
     
  4. Soonersmith

    Soonersmith Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Shellsburg, Iowa
    so then I assume since they have to activate it, they'll still charge the monthly fee even though I own it?
     
    Highstepper likes this.
  5. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20,183
    Likes Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Indy
    That's correct.
     
  6. Soonersmith

    Soonersmith Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Shellsburg, Iowa
    thx very much
     
  7. peggy97850

    peggy97850 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    575
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Western US
    If you have decent internet get an Amazon Firestick and use Dish Anywhere.
     
  8. lakebum431

    lakebum431 Pub Member / Supporter Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Posts:
    15,256
    Likes Received:
    3,309
    Location:
    Norris, TN
    Exactly. This works great. Just be aware that you can only have one active stream from Dish Anywhere at any time so this somewhat limits your ability to replace receivers.
     
    comfortably_numb and johnr475 like this.
  9. Hall

    Hall SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Posts:
    18,409
    Likes Received:
    3,194
    Location:
    Germantown OH
    I thought Dish Anywhere was able to stay "internal" if your main receiver and the device that DA is on are on the same network ?
     
  10. peggy97850

    peggy97850 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    575
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Western US
    true, but I have neighbors that don't have any internet (hard to imagine) so DA wouldn't even be an option, they'd need to have a Joey.
     
  11. lakebum431

    lakebum431 Pub Member / Supporter Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Posts:
    15,256
    Likes Received:
    3,309
    Location:
    Norris, TN
    I believe that you would need an internet connection to authenticate the device, but the actual streaming would be on your intranet.
     
  12. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,791
    Likes Received:
    10,228
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    The internet doesn’t matter referring to DA as a replacement for multiple Joeys. What does matter is that the Host receiver only has one sling device. One sling device equals one path to DA....
     
    HipKat likes this.
  13. jscud

    jscud SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Posts:
    303
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Central NH
    You can buy a Joey off the Internet and activate it yourself by calling Dish and giving them the receiver number. Yes you still get the $7 monthly fee but what you do not need is to have Dish tech come out to “install” a leased Joey. That is a $100 fee which is twice as much as the cost of a Joey on Amazon or Dish Depot.
     
  14. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Wanderer
    Isn't "calling Dish" the same as "involving dish"?
     
  15. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,648
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    The only "savings" you may enjoy by buying a receiver is the price someone else "may" pay you for it in the future.

    As has been said, you can avoid one receiver fee by buying an Amazon Fire stick.

    I did just that and returned one Joey to Dish for a savings of $7 per month.

    Note that one H2 or H3 can only support one Amazon Fire Stick at a time.
     
    MikeD-C05 likes this.
  16. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,684
    Likes Received:
    8,062
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I've posted this a million times, but some states have a leased receiver tax (mine does). So if you care about saving $2 per month, then that is one advantage of owning. Not wanting to debate the merits of owning vs. leasing here; just stating a fact. :D
     
    crodrules likes this.
  17. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,648
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    WOW, is that a 30% tax on receiver leases?
     
  18. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,684
    Likes Received:
    8,062
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Any kind of leased equipment actually. Copiers, office equipment etc.
     
  19. dare2be

    dare2be SatelliteGuys God Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    12,112
    Likes Received:
    6,633
    Location:
    FL
    I'd fight the"lease" tax. You pay the same even if owned. It's a programming access fee, not a lease fee.
     
    MikeD-C05 likes this.
  20. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,684
    Likes Received:
    8,062
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    The state is charging a tax because the equipment is leased. It’s a BS tax I agree. Only way around it is to own; then they don’t charge it.
     
    theBruce likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...