Calling on you! Need advice for alternative to Big 3

teachermama

Original poster
Jun 5, 2011
Nashville
I am a middle school teacher. I NEED access at home to good educational TV (NatGeo, Discovery, Science Channel, TLC, etc). I now have Dish with the $93/month plan. I CAN'T keep paying this big bill.
With a smokin fast laptop, a medium fast DSL service, and house WiFY, is there no other option to get educational TV and a local channel or two? I don't care if the programming is real time except when a tornado is barrelling down on us and we need weather radar images and local news.
I don't know where to start in kicking my Dish habit. You are my peeps! You speak the language of signals/waves/receivers/and mysterious boxes that make the TV come to life. HELP!

I am a middle school teacher. I NEED access at home to good educational TV (NatGeo, Discovery, Science Channel, TLC, etc). I now have Dish with the $93/month plan. I CAN'T keep paying this big bill.
With a smokin fast laptop, a medium fast DSL service, and house WiFY, is there no other option to get educational TV and a local channel or two? I don't care if the programming is real time except when a tornado is barrelling down on us and we need weather radar images and local news.
I don't know where to start in kicking my Dish habit. You are my peeps! You speak the language of signals/waves/receivers/and mysterious boxes that make the TV come to life. HELP!

3 Letters.....PBS.:)

You can also check out what's available at your address at AntennaWeb for information on OTA(Over The Air) High Definition Television and Over The Air antennas.Good Luck!:)

Last edited: