Can a Directv 5 Lnb ka/ku be used for FTA?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

ghost dog

Original poster
Nov 7, 2011
upstate ny
Hi everyone,
I have a 5 Lnb ka/ku dish from Directv. I would like to know if that can be used for free to air. My landlord has no problem with any more dishes being mounted but to avoid any potental issues i figured i'd ask. If it cannot be used can i at least use the remaining mast if i do need to remove it. Also for a 2 room setup what would be the best options to go with. I was an installer for direct tv but Fta is just something i never really thought of until now.

Thanks for any responses in advance.

spanish sites had the mod for the old oddball dtv lnbs.
I believe the l.o. was close enough to 10600 to goose properly.

I have a 5 Lnb ka/ku dish from Directv.
I would like to know if that can be used for free to air.

Also for a 2 room setup what would be the best options to go with.
My notes say the DirecTV Slimline: 32.5 x 22.5 h
With a proper FTA LNBF, you could get by with some of the stronger transponders.
I don't generally recommend a dish under 36" in diameter, though.

As for the existing LNBFs, they're circular, and we use orthogonal (generally called linear).
So, if there is a mod for that , I'd like to see it.
Doesn't really sound like something I'd recommend to a beginner.
Then, there's the problem of 'em having the wrong LO (local oscillator frequency).
Again, not impossible, but without proper equipment, this is biting off too much for a beginner.

For your two-room setup, there are LNBFs with two outputs availablefrom multiple vendors.

Also: