Can I still use my voom OTA with DishNet? If so HOW?

ryounglaw

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 9, 2005
I just got DishNet after the surprise of losing voom. Now, I am looking for a new OTA to get my locals in high def. The question is – can I still hook up the voom OTA with my new dish? I am a novice at this and I am not sure I want to deal with it. :confused: Can anyone let me know if it’s possible to hook up the OTA and if so how to do it. I have tried some indoor models and I found one that works the Winegard ss3000 (its great). However, it’s an eyesore. I would like to use the outdoor OTA if at all possible.

Thanks,
Ryan

i am in the same boat as you are the ota works great with the rec. and my ota is not amplified, just looks like a pair of airplane wings spread out, but when i hook it up to the 811 rec it doesnt find any channels at all, i went to wally world and bought an amplified booster where you have 1 input coming in from the ota and 2 outputs coming out, it costs 36.00 so tommorrow the field rep from my sat service that did the install is coming out again for the 3rd time and tell me what i need to get it to work, i know different ones on here try to tell me that my ota from voom is amplified but there is no power going to it all, it just plugs 1 cable into the diplexer on the rear of the stb and thats it, so i think the the thing i bought at wally world was a waste of money, and radio shack told me that they dont sell power boosters anymore for the ota antennas

but there is no power going to it all, it just plugs 1 cable into the diplexer on the rear of the stb and thats it, so i think the the thing i bought at wally world was a waste of money, and radio shack told me that they dont sell power boosters anymore for the ota antennas