Can I use my old C-band dish setup for FTA?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

farmerchief

Original poster
Sep 25, 2005
Just stumbled across this site while doing searches on the internet. I have an old C-band 10' system sitting out back of my house(wife has been after me to remove it for years(LOL)). Can I use this, and hook up an FTA receiver? I still have my motorized actuator on the dish, but I'm sure I would have to change the currant LNB. Im a farmer, and after wheat drilling is done (hopefully within the next few weeks), I will have time to play with this, throughout the winter. I am really intriguied with the technology, and figured me and my youngest son, might have some fun seeing what is available in the FTA transmissions. I read Iceberg's review on the Pansat 3500, seemed like a very nice FTA receiver, but we would need something very simple to start with. Thanks for any input you care to render.
farmerchief

Hello and WELCOME to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum :welcome

Sure can use your Big dish for FTA. There is still quite a lot of sports FTA analog, but to get the full benefit from your dish you would need a DVB receiver just like the 3500.

A new LNB might be needed if you want both C-Band and KU-Band, you have found the RIGHT place!

Nice to have you here!

PSB said:
Hello and WELCOME to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum :welcome

Sure can use your Big dish for FTA. There is still quite a lot of sports FTA analog, but to get the full benefit from your dish you would need a DVB receiver just like the 3500.

A new LNB might be needed if you want both C-Band and KU-Band, you have found the RIGHT place!

Nice to have you here!
Thanks for the greeting! I would probably need to look into a dual KU/C band LNB, is that correct?(do they even make such animals?(ha))

farmerchief said: