Can I??

Status
Please reply by conversation.

davies_z

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Oct 31, 2004
Please guys I am new to satellite stuffs and need some questions to be answered.
I wanna get an FTA receiver(Fortec Ultra). I live in Nigeria. Can I receive channels from PAS7 which is over south africa from Nigeria.?

Thanks a lot.But I intend to get a 65cm diameter dish. Would that be ok for getting channels from Satellites like Astra2A, 2D,Eurobird1?
Thanks.

Thanks for your answers. They have helped a lot;but please one more thing,if the satellite beam for the channels i like is not directed towards Nigeria as is the case of PAS 7 and other satellites, do i need a dish mover to get those channels?
Also what are feeds?
Thanks

davies_z said:
Thanks for your answers. They have helped a lot;but please one more thing,if the satellite beam for the channels i like is not directed towards Nigeria as is the case of PAS 7 and other satellites, do i need a dish mover to get those channels?
Also what are feeds?
Thanks

The South African beam on PAS 7 won't reach Nigeria. PAS 10 covers Nigeria, but it is more a C-Band satellite.

Also, none of the ASTRA sats point at Nigeria.
None of the HotBirds, either.
Atlantic Bird 3 has C-band coverage of Nigeria.
Eutelsat W3A has some ku coverage.
Eutelsat W4 has ku but as part of MultiChoice Africa.

Sir
I Used The Satellite Tracker On Lyngsat And It Indicated That Part Of The Beam From Pas7,4 And Astra2b,2d.etc Reaches Nigeria. Please What Exactly Does That Satellite Tracker Mean. And Also What Are Feeds?
Thanks

The Lyngsat tracker lets you know that you have line of sight to the satellite (you can see it), but it seems you are out of any beams being sent your way (footprint)
A feed is an occasional broadcast, could be news or sports not intended for public consumption, but can be seen with a FTA system.

Sir,