Can recorded programming be transfered to new receiver?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Mirage52, Nov 6, 2018.

  1. Mirage52

    Mirage52 Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am getting new equipment today and have a lot of recorded shows that I haven't gotten around to watching yet. Is there any way to transfer recorded programming from an older receiver to the new one?
     
  2. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6,952
    Likes Received:
    5,841
    Location:
    USA
    No way to transfer unless you're with DISH then there are two easy ways. :biggrin
     
  3. Mirage52

    Mirage52 Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well it was a moot point anyway. The tech arrived at my house and esstentially talked me out of upgrading. He said the 4K boxes are buggy and people are downgrading back to the Genie. I currently have a Genie so I didn't see the need to upgrade at this time.

    Anyone else have experience with this?
     
  4. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,347
    Likes Received:
    2,139
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    My thoughts on that ...
    IF your not going to USE the 4k portion specifically, don't change what you already have if you have a Genie set up already.
    By Genie set up I mean HR44/54 ...
     
    bmetelsky likes this.
  5. robjlevin

    robjlevin SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    New Jersey
    What 4K boxes was he talking about? The only equipment capable of outputting 4K is the C61K client which requires either an HR54 or HS17. I've got two of them with an HS17 and while I wouldn't call them perfect, they're fine and the 4K picture, for most broadcasts is absolutely stunning.
     
  6. manowell

    manowell Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    That's my question and my experience, too.
     
  7. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,242
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Still not worth switching.

    But then again when you have dish the equipment is breaking all the time anyways where this feature comes in handy
     
  8. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,242
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    I wouldn’t have done the Genie2, but the 4K client is a no brainer
     
    Jimbo likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...