1. Another Team Summit in the books!

    Thanks to the generosity of a number of our members SatelliteGuys will be covering DISH Networks Team Summit Event from Phoenix, Arizona!

    CLICK HERE for our Team Summit 2019 Coverage!

    CLICK HERE to see our 2019 DISH Team Summit Recap Video! Thanks for being part of SatelliteGuys!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Can we keep track of new ATSC 3.0 stations going on the air?

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by N5XZS, May 6, 2018.

  1. N5XZS

    N5XZS Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,335
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    By using this threads anyone's can report of the new ATSC 3.0 stations going on the air.

    Just put the station's call letter real rf channel ERP level and name of DMA.:)

    That way we can keep track of it!:hungry

    I think there are at least 3 stations like WRAL-EX
    Some Phoenix stations can't think of others.

    Please fill any informations what 3rd or more stations.

    Thanks!!
     
  2. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    46,412
    Likes Received:
    11,393
    Location:
    Northern VA
    On one hand. For many months to come.
     
  3. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    7,991
    Likes Received:
    4,193
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    What difference does it make? There's no way for the average person to receive ATSC 3.0, because tuners for it don't as of yet exist.
     
    danristheman likes this.
  4. N5XZS

    N5XZS Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,335
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    There will be early birds and any local news on announcement on starting the ATSC 3.0 stations in local areas.

    Regardless whether you can receive the signals or not.

    Heck anyones can use broadband radio receiver to tune in digital video carrier's signal to verified that stations is on the air!:bow

    How hard that can be?

    Should be fun tuning around to see anything new in your local areas.:)
     
  5. Voyager6

    Voyager6 Just lost in space
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    11,728
    Likes Received:
    3,842
    Location:
    Sol 3
    How hard? Certainly not an easy process to receive ATSC 3.0 right now. See Post #14 from the link below (which you read and liked).
    Phoenix Model Market Launches Next Gen TV Broadcasts
     
  6. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,012
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    For me, the ATSC 3.0 stations are the ones that rabbitears shows as "off the air". I can't pick any of them up as they're testing Single Frequency Network and the signals don't go far at all.

    Perhaps it is not very complicated to set up an SDR to hunt for signals, but it is almost certainly pointless as many of the early stations are simply testbeds broadcasting at power levels that may be all over the scale to investigate interference and coverage properties.

    Come back after the repacks and it may begin to get interesting.
     
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,012
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Receivers exist, but they're incredibly hard to get a hold of as well as being stupid expensive.

    I use the term receiver instead of tuner as these guys are so much more than a resonant circuit.
     
  8. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    509
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    Their experimental ATSC 3.0 authorization was canceled. They should be back on ATSC 1.0 sooner rather than later. (If not, I'll be very interested to hear.)

    - Trip
     
  9. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    46,412
    Likes Received:
    11,393
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I suspect there will be a blare of trumpets from on high when any ATSC 3 stations go active, as the NAB makes a huge deal out of it.
     
  10. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,012
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The way I read it, they agreed with the Video Division to go silent based on the fact that the manufacturer couldn't make the equipment work properly.
    Since three of the four stations are showing effectively the same content (YouToo) and the towers aren't all that distant from each other, I would guess it is more of a case of the owner wanting to keep the channels but not wanting to foot the power bill. Their STA hints at the power consumption issue.
     
  11. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    46,412
    Likes Received:
    11,393
    Location:
    Northern VA
    You mean nirvana is not coming as quickly as predicted?

    I’m SHOCKED!
    :rollingeyes
     
  12. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,012
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    As predicted by whom?
     
  13. Trip

    Trip RabbitEars Webmaster
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    509
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, US
    Kyle91 likes this.
  14. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,012
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Thank you. While the application appeared in the rabbitears information, the response from the FCC did not.

    It will be interesting to see what they do when the silent STA expires and they have to go live or presumably forfeit.

    So ends any Next-gen experiments in the Portland Oregon market. I recall that Portland was the only US market that was testing SFN (although I think SFN is all the rage in South Korea).
     
  15. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    46,412
    Likes Received:
    11,393
    Location:
    Northern VA
  16. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,404
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Single Frequency Network
     
  17. KD6W

    KD6W Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    S.F.O.
    All the stations (as of today) are listed below, operating on their assigned frequency and power but in ATSC 3.0 mode...

    Multiple stations in Las Vegas have been set up over the last few years to operate in 3.0 mode temporarily (during NAB)
    Sinclair in Baltimore was operating in 3.0 but is shut down for now (it was not SFN)
    You saw the other multicaster in Portland lost his STA, so he goes back to 1.0 mode.

    WRAL in Raleigh is live (UHF high power) single PLP
    WJW in Cleveland is live (UHF high power) single PLP
    KTVW in Phoenix is live (UHF Class A)) 2 PLP

    Sinclair is in the process of building a SFN across several stations in the Dallas market, coming online soon.
    SDR tuners are possible but the work to develop the GNURADIO model to make an effective receiver doesn't yet exist.

    Satellite (signals) enthusiasts in those markets can use one of a number of popular SDR receivers and clearly see the new carriers.
    ATSC 3.0 TVs are available in South Korea only, worth noting, the import duty to the US is fairly stiff.

    73
     
    comfortably_numb, N5XZS and navychop like this.
  18. kc9pke

    kc9pke Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Indiana
    Hey, I’m that guy with the ATSC 3.0 box. If any of you happen to be in a market where ATSC 3.0 is being used and have a 4K TV, I’ll let you borrow my box as long as you foot the shipping cost (about $15)

    You just need a 4K screen and enough sense to hook it up, not too difficult
     
    navychop and comfortably_numb like this.
  19. kc9pke

    kc9pke Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Indiana
    There was zero duty on my 3.0 box, that’s coming straight from the harmonized tariff database and my personal experience importing the box for evaluation
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  20. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,012
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    The evaluation part may be why that is so. If it hadn't been classed that way, things may have been much different, no?

    As a matter of perhaps peculiar interest, is this a Korean domestic market piece or did it come with a 110V power configuration (Korea uses 220VAC wall sockets)?
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...